Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 12-9-2014

Weekly Round-Up 12-9-2014

Save the Dates:
 
Classified Holiday Luncheon
Dec. 22, 11:30 am – 2:00 pm, SJC Cafeteria
Theme: “Nightmare Before Christmas”
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Martin Luther King Jr. Day Unity Breakfast
Jan. 19, 7:30 am – 11:00 am, SJC Library
The 50th Anniversary of the Civil Rights Act of 1964: Promise Unfulfilled?
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
Accreditation Site Visit
Mar. 9 & 10, 2015, MVC
Two-day site visit by accreditation team for Diagnostic Medical Sonography Program
For more information contact Janet Brandenburg at 951-639-5557 or jbranden@msjc.edu
 
 
CSEA Meeting
Dec. 9, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 205/MVC Rm. 355B
For more information contact Kaye Melsheimer at 951-639-5523 or kmelsheimer@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Garden Movement Meeting
Dec. 9, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence, for students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – Steps to Transfer`
Dec. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – Steps to Transfer
Dec. 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Dec. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – Career Development 
Dec. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – Scholarships
Dec. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – Scholarships
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Community Concert Band
Dec. 9, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The Magic of Christmas, the band performs Christmas favorites!
Theatre Box Office: 951-487-3790
 
Photography Exhibition
Dec. 10, 11, 16, 17 & 18, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
Dec. 11, 5:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Open House 
For more information contact Melissa Ott at 951-639-5684 or mott@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film
Dec. 10, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
Koch Brothers Exposed
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Dec. 10, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Grammar Brush Up
Dec. 11, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – MLA and APA Questions
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Dec. 10, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Peace, Propaganda, and the Promised Land
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Sessions
Dec. 10, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Dec. 10, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Earn your Associate and Bachelor degrees in four years guaranteed!
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Auditions: You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown
Dec. 10 & Jan. 13, 6:00 – 8:00 pm, SJC Theatre
For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-487-3791 or spowell@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Orientations
Dec. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158/MVC Rm. 418
Open to all students interested in STEM
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Dec. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Program
Dec. 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Conflict Resolution
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Dec. 11, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101
Film: Invisible Threat with Lisa Posard, Film Producer
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Dec. 11, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Using MLA and APA
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
EOPS Accepting Applications
Ends Dec. 12th
For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-487-3290 or mcrawford@msjc.edu
 
STEM Build-A-Bot Workshop
Dec. 12, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 101/MVC Rm. 932
Design and build a robot or kinetic art
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Exhibit
Ends Dec. 12, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
“Reflections: Recent Paintings and Photographs” by Stephen Beveridge
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Hemet Harmonizers
Dec. 13, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Christmas Harmony Concert
For more information contact Continuing Ed at 951-487-3707
 
Menifee Campus Singers
Dec. 13, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Part of the Menifee Music Department’s Fall Concerts Week
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Golden Eagles Orchestra Concert
Dec. 14, 4:00 pm, SJC Theatre
A Holiday Classic
For more information contact Teri Safranek at 951-506-6616 or tsafranek@msjc.edu
 
S.A.T.O.R.I. Garden Movement Meeting
Dec. 16, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1008
Science Agriculture Technology Organic Research Intelligence, for students interested in learning landscaping and gardening
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meetings
Dec. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417
Dec. 17, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411
De-Stressing Workshop
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Joanna Quejada’s Retirement Party
Dec. 17, Noon – 2pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Cynthia Prentice at 951-639-5321 or cprentice@msjc.edu
 
The Giving Tree
Ends Dec. 19, MVC & SJC Child Development & Education Centers
Donate a gift and help support our CDEC’s!
For more information contact Nancy Alvarado at 951-639-5607, 951-487-3613 or nalvarado@msjc.edu
 
CSEA December Newsletter
 
MSJC Academy
Jan. 12 - 15, 2015, MVC
Innovation Institutes and Academy Showcase Day
For more information contact Anna Stirling at 951-639-5448 or astirling@msjc.edu
 
7th Annual Foundation Gala
Feb. 7, 2015, 6:00 pm, Pechanga Resort and Casino
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
ADA Tip of the Week
For more information contact Laurie Flynn at 951-487-3300 or lflynn@msjc.edu
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone