Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 2-17-2015

Weekly Round-Up 2-17-2015

San Jacinto Valley Women’s Conference
Save The Date: Feb. 26, 2015, 8:00 am, The Country Club at Soboba Springs
 
Book Store Hours
Feb. 17 – Apr. 30, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC & SJC
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3135 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Staff Workshop: New Café Catering Process
Feb. 17, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Business Services has a new procedure to streamline the process and increase communication
For more information contact Gail Jensen at 951-487-3023 or gjensen@msjc.edu
 
Black History Month Movie
Feb. 17, 12:00 pm, SJC Cafeteria
“Finding Forrester” will play in the cafeteria, hosted by SGA
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Talon Film
Feb. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Ivory Tower” explores the state of higher education in America, hosted by The Talon, MSJC’s official student newspaper
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Club Film
Feb. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
America after Ferguson” a town meeting discussion of race relations in America, in honor of Black History Month
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Feb. 17, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Becoming an SI Leader & Giving Back as a Tutor
Feb. 18, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Using MLA
Feb. 19, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255 – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Feb. 19, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Selecting a Research Topic
Feb. 23, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – How Not to Plagiarize
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Feb. 17, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Workshops
Feb. 17, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Leadership/Getting Involved on Campus
Feb. 23, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Knowing Your Charter/Goal Setting
Feb. 24, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Knowing Your Charter/Goal Setting
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Financial Aid Workshop
Feb. 18, 2:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1560
FAFSA assistance for Veteran’s and Veteran Dependents
For more information contact Aimee Bravo at 951-639-5237 or abravo@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Feb. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 155 - Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Feb. 18, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
Gasland II” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Feb. 18, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – MLA Style
Feb. 19, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421 – MLA & APA Overview
Feb. 19, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Selecting a Research Topic
Feb. 23, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – How Not to Plagiarize
Feb. 23, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Quotes, Paraphrases, Summary
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Foundation Scholarship Deadline
Feb. 20th
Students, get your scholarship applications in!
For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3170 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
 
Cash For College Workshop
Feb. 21, 11:00 am, SJC Bldg. 1150
2015-16 FAFSA (Free Application for Federal Student Aid) step-by-step assistance and scholarship opportunities
For more information contact Dana Tate, Financial Aid, 951-639-5241 or dtate@msjc.edu
 
Golden Eagles Big Band Concert
Feb. 22, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Jazz Artist Series featuring Guitarist, Steve Crowell
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Feb. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Feb. 24, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Educational Software for Students, Faculty & Staff
 
CSEA February Newsletter
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone