Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 2-23-2016

Weekly Round-Up 2-23-2016

Save the Dates

 

New Program: Phlebotomy Technician 1

Orientation: Mar. 5th, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 927

Register at www.msjc.edu/ce

 

Cesar Chavez Art & Poetry Contest

Submissions Due by Mar. 11th

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CesarChavezArtAndPoetryContestSP16.pdf

 

 

Angel Bin Shoe Donation Drive

Now through Mar. 21, Drop-Off Locations on MVC & SJC

Classified Senate Fundraiser

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/AngelBinShoeDonationDriveSP16.pdf

For more information contact Julie Baker at 951-639-5557 or jbaker@msjc.edu

 

National Eating Disorder Awareness Week: Body Image Gallery

Now through Feb. 26, MVC 400 Bldg.

Students are encourages to write and post positive messages about their bodies

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Body-Image-Gallery-on-the-Menifee-Valley-Campus.aspx

For more information contact Anjeanette Oberg at aoberg@msjc.edu

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

Feb. 23, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UCR STEM Bourns College of Engineering

Feb. 23, 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University

Feb. 24, 9:30 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino

Feb. 24, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, National University

Feb. 24, 1:00 pm – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Marcos

Mar. 1, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University

Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

London Study Abroad Info Session

Feb. 23, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106

Students will learn how to earn transferable credit while studying and traveling abroad during the Fall 2016 semester

For more information contact Shartelle Fears at 951-639-5397 or sfears@msjc.edu

 

Honors Enrichment Program Orientation

Feb. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HonorsOrientationsFA15.pdf

For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu

 

Academic Executive Senate Meeting

Feb. 23, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Feb. 23, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Applying to Ivy League Schools

Feb. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Transferring to a Four-Year Institution

Feb. 23, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B, Applying to Ivy League Schools

Feb. 24, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486, Using MLA and APA

Feb. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305, Advanced Library Research

Feb. 25, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416, Presenting at the Honors Conference

Mar. 1, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Student Leadership

Mar. 1, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814, Advanced Library Research

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Film

Feb. 23, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408, National Geographic’s Inside Guantanamo Bay

Feb. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927, 3-1/2 Minutes, Ten Bullets

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

Feb. 24, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club Meeting

Feb. 24, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 415

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubMeetingsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Job Skills Workshops

Feb. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 Resume and Cover Letter

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Humanities Film Festival

Feb. 24, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407

“Cinema as Art and Life: the Films of Ingmar Bergman” Wild Strawberries (1957)

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanitiesFilmsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshop

Feb. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255, Quotes, Paraphrases, Summary

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Visiting Writers Series

Feb. 25, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407

Poet, Ron Salisbury will engage in a reading and conversation of his work, Miss Dessert Inn: a collection of poems

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SalisburyFlyerSP16.pdf

For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu

 

Black History Month Lecture

Feb. 25, 12:30 pm, SJC Library

The Black Man & the Glorified Girl: Bert Williams, the Ziegfeld Follies and Sexual Imagination in the Integration of Broadway

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/Morgan'sLectureSP16.pdf

For more information contact Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu

 

Communication Studies Speech Workshops

Feb. 25, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 479, Citing Sources in a Speech

Feb. 25, 5:00 pm,     “           “           “           “                  “

Learn the different ways to incorporate and cite references in your speech

For more information contact Beverly Natividad at bnatividad@msjc.edu

 

Blackboard Monthly Maintenance

Feb. 25, 10:00 pm – 2:00 am Feb. 26

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BlackboardMonthlyMaintenanceFeb2016.pdf

For more information contact Micah Orloff at 951-639-5440 or morloff@msjc.edu

 

University Tours

Feb. 26, 7:30 am – 3:00 pm, Depart from MVC & SJC, UC Riverside

Feb. 27, 7:30 am – 3:00 pm, Depart from MVC & SJC, CSU San Bernardino

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Announces-Free-Tours-to-Local-Universities.aspx

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu

 

Book of the Month Club

Feb. 26, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 453

A Girl in Pieces, by Isabel Quintero

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BOMclubMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu

 

Creative Writing Club Meeting

Feb. 26, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212

Offers students advice and support on creative writing projects

For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu

 

Online Scholarship Opportunities

Feb. 26 Application Deadline

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/MSJC-Scholarship-Opportunities-Apply-Online.aspx

 

ASTAR Workshop

Feb. 29, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 950

Science basic review workshop

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ASTARworkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu

 

February Registration Discount - Dominican Republic Study Tour

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/DominicanRepublicStudyTour2016.pdf

 

Flight 2016

Mar. 1 Submission Deadline

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/Flight2016.pdf

 

Business Competition 2016

Mar. 11, Application Deadline

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/2016-Business-Competition.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

Mar. 17, Tangible purchases

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PurchasingCutOffDates2016.pdf

 

Active Shooter Training & Exercise

Mar. 21, SJC

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Active-Shooter-Training-and-Exercise.aspx

 

Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket

Fridays, SJC

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/City-of-San-Jacinto-to-Change-Street-Sweeping-Day-to-Fridays.aspx

 

Vehicle Safety Reminder

All students, faculty, staff and visitors are advised to lock their vehicles and keep windows closed. Secure valuables and keep them out of view in order to prevent vehicle burglary. If you see any suspicious activity, please notify the MSJC Campus Safety Office at 951-639-5188. In emergencies, please dial 911.

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings for students, faculty and staff on software and more!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuys2016.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuys2016-2.pdf

 

Take the Perkins Survey

http://www.msjc.edu/PerkinsSurvey

Information provided helps MSJC receive much needed grant funds for Career and Technical Education programs

 

Writing Scholarship for Students

The Community College Public Relations Organization (CCPRO) is now accepting applications for its 2016 Writing Scholarship!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CCPRO-WritingScholarship.pdf

 

Financial Aid Services Available

Every Monday, 8:30 am – 5:30 pm, TEC Rm. 116

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FAOatTEC-SP16Flyer.pdf

 

Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds

The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families

Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

Who Does What in HR?

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-Jan2016WhoDoesWhat.pdf

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf