Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-17-2015

Weekly Round-Up 3-17-2015

Women’s Self-Defense Class
Mar. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Gym
A hands-on, self-defense class, in honor of Women’s History Month
For more information contact Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu
 
St. Patrick’s Day Celebration
Mar. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Quad/MVC Quad and Presentation in Rm. 805
Join the SGA for games, singing dancing and an open mic
Join the Honors Enrichment Program for a presentation about the Irish Holiday with food, music and festivities
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Mar. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Bienvenue chez les ch’tis (2007) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Mar. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Good Lord Bird, James McBride, (453 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Mar. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 111 – Resume/Cover Letter
Mar. 18, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 970/SJC Rm. 111 – What’s Next? Transfer
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm. MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 111 – TAG (Transfer Admission Guarantee)
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Mar. 17, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Concentration & Memory
Mar. 19, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Essay Exam Preparation
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Mar. 17, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 Concentration & Memory
Mar. 19, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Essay Exam Preparation
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Mar. 17, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Clothesline Project
Mar. 18, 9:00 am, SJC Quad
A visual display of shirts created to represent the impact of domestic violence and sexual assault
For more information contact Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Mar. 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 155 – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication & Division
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Choreography Showcase
Mar. 18, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Choreographers showcase their works-in-progress
Box Office/Reservations: 951-639-5790
 
Human Rights Film Series
Mar. 18, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
Anita Hill: Speaking Truth to Power” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
STEM Conversational Cafe
Mar. 18, 5:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C
Join us for refreshments, hot topics and fun
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Honors Program Presentation
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 600
“Write Your Own Story” by MSJC alumna Meg Elison, a UC Berkeley graduate and novelist
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Nursing Forum
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Get information on what to expect when applying for and attending nursing school and a career in nursing
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
50 Shades of Dirty Little Secrets Fish Bowl
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, SJC Library
A “steamy” discussion of the 50 Shades of Grey phenomenon
For more information contact Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu
 
STEM Orientations
Mar. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 419/SJC Rm. 156
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Student Government Association Election Applications
Available through Mar. 19, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1114
Students can pick up packets at the Student Life & Development Program offices
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Purchasing Cut-Off
Mar. 19th
Last day to submit purchase requisitions for the 2014-15 fiscal year
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Mar. 20, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213
All writers and genres are welcome
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshops
Mar. 20, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932/SJC Rm. 101
Build-A-Bot workshops
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Classified Staff Development Day
Mar. 23, 8:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC
Theme: “DIY”
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Business Competition
Application Deadline is Mar. 23, 12:00 p.m.
Apply to compete if you have an idea for a new business and need help getting started
For more information, please contact Denis Nurmela at 951-760-5513 or dnurmela@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Mar. 24, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Business Services Budget Information Meetings
Mar. 30, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Mar. 31, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
The 15/16 budget development flash drives will be distributed at these meetings
 
Walk in the Vines for Autism Awareness
Apr. 26, 9:00 am, Leoness Cellars Winery, 38311 DePortola Rd., Temecula, 92592
 
New Book Store Hours
Through Apr. 30, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC & SJC
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3135 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
District Letterhead
 
American Red Cross - Home Fire Preparedness and Safety Tips
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link.
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone