Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-29-2016

Weekly Round-Up 3-29-2016

Cesar Chavez Blood Drive

Mar. 29, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, SJC Quad

National Cesar E. Chavez Blood Drive Challenge is hosted by the Puente Club, donors will receive a Cesar Chavez t-shirt while supplies last

For more information contact Rosalva Amezcua at 951-487-2354 or ramezcua@msjc.edu

 

Annual Budget Workshops

Mar. 29, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 200

Mar. 30, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Thumb drives will be delivered for the FY16-17 budgets

For more information contact Gail Jensen at 951-487-3023 or gjensen@msjc.edu

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

Mar. 29, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Grand Canyon University

Mar. 30, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Poly Pomona

Apr. 5, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UCR STEM Bourns College of Engineering

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Mar. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408, Republican vs. Democrat Debate

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Academic Executive Senate Meeting

Mar. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Mar. 29, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Writing a Research Paper

Mar. 30, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305, Advanced Library Research Follow-Up

Mar. 31, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Applying for the All-USA and Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships

Mar. 31, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410, Writing a Research Paper

Apr. 5, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Using APA

Apr. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416, Communication Skills/Oral Presentations

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

MSJC-CSUSM Business Degree Info Session

Mar. 29, 5:30 pm, THE Center Rm. 217

http://www.msjc.edu/CSUSMBusiness/Pages/Orientation-Schedule.aspx

For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

Mar. 30, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club

Mar. 30, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 415

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubMeetingsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Instruction Office Open Houses

Mar. 30, MVC Instruction Office, 12:30 – 1:30 pm

Mar. 31, SJC Instruction Office, 12:30 – 1:30 pm

Join Dr. Rudy Besikof as he hosts Open Houses in the Instruction Offices, light refreshments will be served

 

STEM Pre-Professional Workshop

Mar. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 2006

Learn about careers in medicine, dentistry, pharmacy, physical or occupational therapy, and veterinary

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMeventCalendarSP16.pdf

For more information contact Erin Spurbeck at 951-639-5398 or espurbeck@msjc.edu

 

Critical Thinking & Writing Workshop

Mar. 30, 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CriticalThinkingAndWritingSkillsWorkshopsSP16MVC.pdf

For more information contact Carol Coffin at ccoffin@msjc.edu

 

Humanities Film Festival

Mar. 30, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407

“Cinema as Art and Life: the Films of Ingmar Bergman” The Virgin Spring (1960)

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanitiesFilmsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

History Club Film Series

Mar. 30, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600

“Trumbo” directed by Jay Roach

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HistoryFilmSeriesSpring16.pdf

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Cesar Chavez Film

Mar. 30, 6:00 pm, SJC Black Box Theatre

Hosted by the Diversity Committee and Puente Program

For more information contact Sonia Gutierrez at 951-487-3654 or sgutierrez@msjc.edu

 

Human Rights Film Series

Mar. 31, 12:20 pm, SJC Theatre

“She's Beautiful When She's Angry”

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanRightsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu

 

Art Gallery Exhibit

Ends Mar. 31, 4 pm, SJC Art Gallery

Beach Bodies featuring works by Emma Gray, Justin Hansch and Caleb Lyons

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Art-Gallery-Exhibit-Beach-Bodies.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu or visit msjc.edu/artgallery

 

Cesar Chavez Day Poetry Reading

Mar. 31, 5:00 pm, SJC Library

Winning students of the Cesar Chavez Art & Poetry Contest will read their works

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CesarChavezArtAndPoetryContestSP16.pdf

For more information contact Sonia Gutierrez at 951-487-3654 or sgutierrez@msjc.edu

 

MSJC-CSUSM Business Degree Info Session

Mar. 31, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805

http://www.msjc.edu/CSUSMBusiness/Pages/Orientation-Schedule.aspx

For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu

 

All Faculty Meeting for Full-Time Faculty

Apr. 1, 8:00 am – 12:00 pm, SJC Library

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/AllFacultyMeetingAgenda4-1-16.pdf

For more information contact Jill Lanphere at 951-487-3401 or jlanphere@msjc.edu

 

AB104 Steering Committee Meeting

Apr. 1, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 805

Southwest Riverside County Regional Adult Education Consortium AB104 Steering Committee Meeting

For more information contact Deborah McKee at 951-639-5708 or dmckee@msjc.edu

 

Career & Job Fairs

Apr. 1, 10:00 am – 1:30 pm, SJC Gym (Parking Lot B partially closed from 6am – 3pm)

Apr. 8, 10:00 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Parking Lot C (Parking Lot C partially closed from 6am – 3pm)

Hosted by the Career/Transfer Center, STEM Program and California Family Life Center, featuring employers, colleges and universities

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerJobFairSp16.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu

 

Newport Road Interchange Construction

Apr. 4-15 on I-215, MVC, Newport Road and surrounding surface street traffic delays to MVC, plan for extra travel time & alternative routes

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/NewportMenifeeMerge.pdf

 

Job Skills Workshops

Apr. 5, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 110 Interviews

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Apr. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

A Quiet Inquisition

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Honors Program Film Screening

Apr. 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255

The Witness: From the Balcony of Room 306

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MLK-TheWitnessFromTheBalconyOfRoom306.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu

 

Book of the Month Club

Apr. 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453

The Book of the Unnamed Midwife, by Meg Elison

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BOMclubMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshop

Apr. 5, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Using APA

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Honors Program Welcomes Meg Elison

Apr. 5, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 415

A conversation with MSJC Alum, Meg Elison

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MegElisonHonorsTalkSP16.pdf

For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Menifee Half Marathon & 5K

Apr. 9, 7:00 am, MVC

Register online by Apr. 6 for a $3.00 discount for staff and students

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MenifeeHalf2016.pdf

 

Blackboard and EagleAdvisor Separating

Apr. 28, 2016: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BlackboardAndEagleAdvisorSeparationSP16.pdf

 

Foundation Hosts: Jack Russell’s Great White Concert

May 7, 6:00 pm, Wiens Family Cellars, 35055 Via Del Ponte, Temecula 92592

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Jack-Russells-Great-White.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Fiscal-Year-End-Cut-Off-Dates-2016.aspx

 

Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket

Fridays, SJC

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/City-of-San-Jacinto-to-Change-Street-Sweeping-Day-to-Fridays.aspx

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings for students, faculty and staff on software and more!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysMar2016.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysMarch2016.pdf

 

Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds

The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families

Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

Tickets: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-TicketsatWorkMar2016.pdf

March Bulletin: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/March2016-NationalBulletin.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf