Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-3-2015

Weekly Round-Up 3-3-2015

Cesar Chavez Art and Poetry Contest
Mar. 11 Deadline to Submit Work
 
Order Commencement Regalia
Mar. 13 Deadline
 
Classified Staff Development Day - Save the Date!
Mar. 23rd, 8:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC
 
 
Human Rights Film Series
Mar. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D
Tricked” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Mar. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Student Leadership
Mar. 3, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Using APA
Mar. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 – Advanced Library Research
Mar. 6, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 102 – Essay Exam Writing
Mar. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Memory & Concentration
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Mar. 3, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Workshops
Mar. 3, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 –  How to Run Effective Meetings
Mar. 9, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Filling Club Forms
Mar. 10, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Filling Club Forms
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Mar. 3, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – APA Style
Mar. 6, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 102 – Essay Exam Writing
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
ASTAR Workshops
Mar. 4, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 950 – Science
Mar. 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 969 – Math
Academic Success Through Assessment and Remediation provides a basic review of core concepts in English, Science, Math & Reading
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Mar. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 155 - Operations on Decimals
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Mar. 4, 12:30 pm. MVC Rm. 970/SJC Rm. 111 – UC/CSU Differences
Mar. 10, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 110 – Career Exploration
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
STEM Skills Workshop
Mar. 4, 4:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1301
Chemistry Hacks: Tricks and strategies to learning Chemistry
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Committee Meeting
Mar. 5, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Mar. 5, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm.1111
For more information contact Belen Farinas at 951-639-5264 or mafarinas@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series: Circus! Making the Spectacle
Mar. 5, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Why We Love Dumbo: A Look at Animals in the Circus
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Women’s Self Defense Workshop
Mar. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 207
A hands-on workshop, sponsored by the Diversity Committee & the Riverside Rape Crisis Center
For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshops
Mar. 6, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932/SJC Rm. 101
Build-A-Bot workshops
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Wellness Hike
Mar. 7, 9:30 am, Santa Rosa Plateau                
The Wellness Hike provides FLEX credit for Faculty
For more information contact Fadi Nasr at 951-639-5752 or fnasr@msjc.edu
 
Last Day to apply for Spring 2015 graduation and Certificates of Achievements
March 9          
For more information contact Enrollment Services at enrollsvcs@msjc.edu
 
Accreditation Site Visit
Mar. 9 & 10, MVC
Two-day site visit by accreditation team for Diagnostic Medical Sonography Program
For more information contact Janet Brandenburg at 951-639-5557 or jbranden@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Mar. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Mar. 10, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Purchasing Cut-Off
Mar. 19th
Last day to submit purchase requisitions for the 2014-15 fiscal year
 
New Book Store Hours
Through Apr. 30, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC & SJC
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3135 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
District Letterhead
 
Educational Software for Students, Faculty & Staff
 
Associate Faculty Resource Center
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone