Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-31-2015

Weekly Round-Up 3-31-2015

Save the Dates:
 
Apr. 3 – 11, Dr. Bill Vincent Performs in “Ragtime the Musical,” Riverside City College Landis Performing Arts Center
 
Apr. 10 – 19, “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown,” San Jacinto Campus Theatre
 
 
Cesar Chavez Day Events
Mar. 31, SJC
9:00 am, Quad -  Blood Drive
12:30 pm, Theatre – IDEAS from UCLA on Undocumented Identity
6:00 pm, Rm. 200 – Cesar Chavez Movie
Events in remembrance of labor activist and United Farm Workers leader, Cesar Chavez
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Comedy Lunch Hour
Mar. 31, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Stand-up comedy acts from four inland area comedians, hosted by the Communications Club
For more information contact David Moss at 951-639-5626 or emoss@msjc.edu
 
Political Parties Debate
Mar. 31, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
The Political Science Club will host a debate about the issues and principles that distinguish the two major political parties
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
Mar. 31, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Mar. 31, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 111 – Steps to Transfer
Apr. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 970 – Resume/Cover Letter
Apr. 1, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 110 – Resume/Cover Letter
Apr. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 111 – Career Exploration
Apr. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 111 – UC/CSU Differences
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Mar. 31, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Stress Management
Mar. 31, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Interview Skills
Apr. 1, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research Follow-Up
Apr. 2, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255 – Writing a Research Paper
Apr. 7, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Mar. 31, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Business Services Budget Information Meeting
Mar. 31, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805
The 2015/16 budget development flash drives will be distributed
 
Donation Drive: Project T.O.U.C.H.
Ends Mar. 31st
SWANS nursing students are holding a donation drive to assist homeless and under resourced families in our district
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Apr. 1, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 155 – Operations on Fractions, Addition & Subtraction
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
STEM Skills Workshop
Apr. 1, 4:15 pm, SJC Rm. 1301
Laboratory Notebook & Electronic Portfolio
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Cesar Chavez Day Event
April 1, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1512
Evening of Poetry
Events in remembrance of labor activist and United Farm Workers leader, Cesar Chavez
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Cesar Chavez Day Event
Apr. 2, 9:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Quad
Blood Drive
Events in remembrance of labor activist and United Farm Workers leader, Cesar Chavez
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Committee Meeting
Apr. 2, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Cesar Chavez Day Event
Apr. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Library
Sharing the Stories
Events in remembrance of labor activist and United Farm Workers leader, Cesar Chavez
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Apr. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Arduino Microcontrollers
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film Series
Apr. 2, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 315
Egypt Uncovered: Pyramid – the Resurrection Machine
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series: Circus! Making the Spectacle
Apr. 2, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
The Future of Circus is Now: Youth Circus in North America
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
SDSU Transfer Day Tour
Apr. 3, 7:45 am, San Diego State University
A tour to provide students with information on the transfer process, support services, academic programs and student life
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshops
Apr. 3, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932/SJC Rm. 101
Build-A-Bot workshops
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Child Development Center Fundraiser: Scholastic Book Fair
Apr. 6 – 10, 7:30 am – 5:30 pm, MVC Building 700 Lobby
All profits will go towards classroom books and materials for the Child Development Center
For more information contact Nancy Alvarado at 951-639-5605 or nalvarado@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Apr. 6, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Carol’s Journey (2007) Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Apr. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D
Last Days in Viet Nam” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film Series
Apr. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Undocumented
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Apr. 7, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Apr. 7, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486 – Avoiding Plagiarism
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Walk in the Vines for Autism Awareness
Apr. 26, 9:00 am, Leoness Cellars Winery, 38311 DePortola Rd., Temecula, 92592
 
New Book Store Hours
Through Apr. 30, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC & SJC
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3135 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Graduation Information
May 29, 6:00 pm, Ramona Bowl Amphitheatre
 
Air Conditioning Control System Upgrades
Through end of May, SJC
 
District Letterhead
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link.
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone