Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-7-2017

Weekly Round-Up 3-7-2017

Who Does What in HR http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-WhoDoesWhatMarch2017.pdf

 

Bellevue University Transfer Scholarships http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BellevueTransferScholarships.pdf

 

CTE March Newsletter http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CTE-March2017Newsletter.pdf

 

Save the Dates:

 

Mar. 16, 2 pm, SJC, Solar “Flip the Switch” Ceremony https://calendar.msjc.edu/event/solar-flip-the-switch-ceremony

 

Mar. 30, 5 pm, SJC 1114/MVC 1007, SGA Election Applications Deadline
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Run-for-Student-Government-Association.aspx

 

Cesar Chavez Blood Drive

Mar. 7, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Quad

The Puente Club hosts this blood drive sponsored by the César Chavez Challenge and The American Red Cross

For more information contact Rafael Reynaga at 951-639-5481 or rreynaga@msjc.edu

 

University Representatives

Mar. 7, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Poly Pomona

Mar. 7, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Baptist University

Mar. 13, 10:30 am, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Baptist University

Mar. 14, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 Brandman University

Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information

CareerTransferUniversityRepsSP17.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Art Gallery Exhibit

Mar. 7 – Apr.13, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, M – Th, SJC Art Gallery

“Don’t Touch the Art. Let the Art Touch You”

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Fine-Arts-Gallery-Exhibit-Dont-Touch-the-Art-Let-the-Art-Touch-You.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Career/Transfer Center

Mar. 7 - 9, 10:00 am, SJC Quad, Career Week

Mar. 10, 7:00 am, Departing from MVC & SJC CSU Long Beach Tour

Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 109/MVC Rm. 106 Steps to Transfer

Please RSVP for workshops: CTC RSVP Form

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransferWorkshopsFlierSP17.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Aimee Bravo at 951-487-3285 or abravo@msjc.edu

 

SGA Institutional Effectiveness Meetings

Mar. 7, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

Mar. 14, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Mar. 7, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 Memory & Concentration

Mar. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 Internships

Mar. 8, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Annotated Bibliography

Mar. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 Presenting at the Honors Conference

Mar. 9, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 156 Internships

Mar. 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 156 Using APA

Mar. 13, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305 Advanced Library Research Follow-Up

Mar. 13, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Stress Management

Mar. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 Student Leadership

Mar. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 156 Finding and Applying for Scholarships

Workshops are open to all students, sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program

ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP17.pdf                  ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP17.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshops

Mar. 7, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 Concentration & Memory

Mar. 8, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Annotated Bibliography

Mar. 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 156 Using APA

Writing Workshops help students gain confidence in their writing abilities

WritingWorkshopsSP17MVC.pdf           WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP17.pdf

For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Creative Writing Club

Mar. 7, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 603

Mar. 14, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 603

Work on your writing, improve your creativity, socialize, and get involved on campus

For more information contact Susan Winslow at 951-639-5640 or swinslow@msjc.edu or Brenee Wright at 951-487-3648 or bwright@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting

Mar. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

http://www.msjc.edu/CollegeInformation/Administration/AcademicSenate/Pages/Schedule-of-Meetings.aspx

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Men’s Tennis vs. San Diego City

Mar. 7, 2:00 pm, SJC Tennis Courts

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Student Equity Lecture

Mar. 7, 3:00 – 4:30 pm and 5:00 – 6:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Dr. Donna Beegle speaks on “Making a Difference for Those Living in Poverty”

DonnaBeegleFlier.pdf

For more information contact Pamela Wright at 951-487-3406 or pwright@msjc.edu

 

Concert Band Rehearsals

Mar. 7, 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1602

Mar. 14, 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1602

The MSJC Concert Band rehearsals are every Tuesday night at 7

For more information contact John Tribelhorn at 951-487-3641 or jtribelhorn@msjc.edu

 

Softball vs. College of the Desert

Mar. 8, 3:00 pm, MVC Softball Diamond

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

CSUSM-MSJC Business Degree Info Sessions

Mar. 8, 5:30 pm, THEC Rm. 202

Graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in four years

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-to-Hold-Information-Sessions-on-Business-Degree-Program-with-Cal-State-University-San-Marcos.aspx

For more information contact Karie White at 951-639-5281 or kwhite@msjc.edu

 

Financial Aid Services Begin at San Gorgonio Pass Campus

Mar. 9, 8:30 am – 5:00 pm, SGP

Financial Aid video conferencing comes to the SGP on Thursdays from 8:30 am – 5pm

For more information contact Shanae Williams at 951-639-5240 or swilliams@msjc.edu

 

SGA College Activities Meeting

Mar. 9, 8:30 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

Students for Environmental Action and Leadership (SEAL)

Mar. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 1010

For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu

 

Women’s Self-Defense Workshop

Mar. 9, 12:30 – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Annual workshop to help empower women with self-defense strategies and techniques to defend themselves

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Offers-Womens-Self-Defense-Workshop.aspx

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club Meeting

Mar. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600

PsychClubMtgsSP17.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Baseball vs. San Diego Mesa

Mar. 9, 2:00 pm, SJC Baseball Diamond

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Men’s Tennis vs. Imperial Valley

Mar. 9, 2:00 pm, SJC Tennis Courts

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Fire Alarm System Upgrade on SJC

Trenching through Mar. 9 http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TrenchDetail022817-030917.pdf

Upgrade through July http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Fire-Alarm-System-Upgrade-on-the-San-Jacinto-Campus.aspx

https://www.flickr.com//photos/msjc/sets/72157678603886106/show/

 

Safe Zone Training

Mar. 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 158

SafeZoneTrainingWorkshopsSP17.pdf

For more information contact Brett Dooley at 951-487-3501 or bdooley@msjc.edu

 

SGA Legislative Meeting

Mar. 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

Broadway Musical “Violet”

Mar. 10, 11, 17, 18, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre

Mar. 12 & 19, 2:30 pm

Violet delights audiences with its message of love and self-acceptance

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-presents-the-musical-Violet.aspx

For more information contact Payden Ackerman at 951-487-3791 or packerman@msjc.edu

 

Last Day to Apply for Spring 2017 Graduation

Mar. 10

Application Forms: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/Commonly-Needed-Forms.aspx

For more information contact Enrollment Services at 951-487-6752 or 951-673-6752

 

Softball vs. Allen Hancock College

Mar. 11, 12:00 pm, MVC Softball Diamond

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Music Faculty Showcase

Mar. 11, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

Twelfth annual Faculty Showcase features the diverse talents of outstanding music faculty

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MusicFacultyShowcaseSP17Flier.pdf

For more information contact Christopher Kiser at 951-639-5791 or ckiser@msjc.edu

 

Choreography Showcase

Mar. 13, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

Choreographers showcase their works-in-progress

For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu

 

Softball vs. Southwestern

Mar. 13, 3:00 pm, MVC Softball Diamond

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Baseball vs. College of the Desert

Mar. 14, 2:00 pm, SJC Baseball Diamond

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Men’s Tennis vs. Palomar

Mar. 14, 2:00 pm, SJC Tennis Courts

For more information contact Athletics at 951-487-3591

 

Rise – Standing Rock Sioux vs. Dakota Access Pipeline

Mar. 14, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

The Talon presents: Rise – Standing Rock Sioux vs. Dakota Access Pipeline

TalonRiseFlier.pdf

For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-6410 or acuatok@msjc.edu

 

Ninth Annual Foundation Gala

Mar. 18, 6:30 pm, Monte De Oro Winery

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/9th-Annual-Foundation-Gala.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

March 31, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for tangible purchase requisitions

June 1, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for Summer Sessions requisitions

June 1, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for Warehouse supply requisitions

June 30, 5:00 pm All 2016-17 purchases must be received to be charged to the 2016/17 budget

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Purchasing-Fiscal-Year-end-Cut-Off-Dates.aspx

 

CivicSpark/AmeriCorps Student Volunteer Opportunity

March – April, Students can volunteer to conduct door-to-door surveys on water-use habits

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5567 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Heart and Stroke Walk of Southwest Riverside County

May 6, 5:00 – 7:00 pm, Winchester

Volunteers Needed! Walkers needed! Bring Your Pets, too!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Volunteers-needed-for-Heart-and-Stroke-Walk.aspx

It’s FREE to walk. Sign up and get your family and friends to sponsor you.

To volunteer, contact MSJC Outreach: Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu or Jose Rivera-Hernandez at 951-487-3315 or johernandez@msjc.edu

 

Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex

Through May 12, Thursday’s 8:30 am – 5:00 pm, TEC

 

Students: Take the Survey for a chance to win a $150 Amazon gift card! 

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/2017-Media-Survey.aspx

 

The Learning Skills Program

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/LearningSkillsProgramFridayFlier.pdf

Now Open Fridays, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1457B

 

Child Development and Education Centers Now Enrolling

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CDEC-FlierSP17.pdf

For more information call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605

 

2017-18 FAFSA or Dream Act Applications Available

fafsa.ed.gov or dream.csac.ca.gov

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider                                                                                                                                                                

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-Tickets@WorkMar2017.pdf

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings on software and more!

Internet Service: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysCaliforniaConnectsInternetService.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysFeb21-2017.pdf

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event

 

Update your MSJC-Alert contact information

In the event of an emergency, MSJC will send critical information to your personal phone number and email address. Make sure your contact information is up to date:

http://www.msjc.edu/alert

 

Help us get the word out about your Events: Submit the Marketing Services Request Form to promote your event via social media, press release, website calendar, marquee and the Weekly Round-Up. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs. Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat

 

Check out the New MSJC Events Calendar: calendar.msjc.edu

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, poster, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first: www.msjc.edu/Branding  Always include the MSJC logo and a contact name, college phone number and email address.

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf