Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 3-8-2016

Weekly Round-Up 3-8-2016

Blackboard and EagleAdvisor Separating

Apr. 28, 2016: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BlackboardAndEagleAdvisorSeparationSP16.pdf

 

 

Women’s Self-Defense Workshop

Mar. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Hosted by the Diversity Committee and the Riverside Rape Crisis Center to honor International Women’s Day

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Job Skills Workshops

Mar. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 Networking

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting

Mar. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Mar. 8, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Finding and Applying for Scholarships

Mar. 8, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416, Giving Back as a Tutor/Becoming an SI Leader

Mar. 9, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486, Annotated Bibliographies

Mar. 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Steps to Transfer

Mar. 10, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Reading and Metacognition

Mar. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416, Student Leadership

Mar. 14, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417, Stress Management

Mar. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B, Eureka/Career Cafe

Mar. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410, Essay Organization

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

Mar. 9, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

STEM Orientations

Mar. 9, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 112

Mar. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412

Open to all MSJC students interested in STEM

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMeventCalendarSP16.pdf

For more information contact Erin Spurbeck at 951-639-5398 or espurbeck@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club

Mar. 9, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 415

The club welcomes Ed Saunders, Drug Educator

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubEdSaundersSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

Mar. 9, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, National University

Mar. 10, 9:30 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino

Mar. 10, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UCR STEM Bourns College of Engineering

Mar. 14, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, National University

Mar. 15, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Marcos

Mar. 15, 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University

Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Human Rights Film Series

Mar. 10, 12:20 pm, SJC Theatre

Her War: Women vs. ISIS

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanRightsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487=3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshop

Mar. 10, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Reading and Metacognition

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Mar. 10, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927, The True Cost

Mar. 15, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408, Know your Legislation/Letter Writing

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

ASTAR Workshops

Mar. 10. 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 Science

Mar. 11, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 814 Math

Mar. 14. 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 Science

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ASTARworkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu

 

University Tour

Mar. 11, 7:00 am – 4:00 pm, Depart from MVC & SJC, CSU Long Beach

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Announces-Free-Tours-to-Local-Universities.aspx

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu

 

Public Speaking Learning Session

Mar. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 479

“Avoiding Death by Powerpoint” presented by the Communications Studies Center

For more information contact Beverly Natividad at bnatividad@msjc.edu

 

Cesar Chavez Art & Poetry Contest

Mar. 11, Submissions Due

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CesarChavezArtAndPoetryContestSP16.pdf

 

Business Competition 2016

Mar. 11, Application Deadline

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/2016-Business-Competition.aspx

 

Last day to apply for Spring 2016 Graduation and Certificates of Achievements

March 11

http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EnrollmentServices/Pages/Spring-2016-Information.aspx

 

Girl Power Conference

Mar. 12, 8:00 am – 4:00 pm, SJC Library & Theatre

For San Jacinto Valley 6th and 7th grade girls, sponsored by the Hemet San Jacinto Soroptimists

For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-639-5320 or mcrawford@msjc.edu

 

Wellness FLEX Hike

Mar. 12, 9:00 Santa Rosa Plateau

For more information contact Fadi Nasr at 951-639-5752 or fnasr@msjc.edu

 

Music Faculty Showcase

Mar. 12, 6:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

The eleventh annual Faculty Showcase features the diverse talents of outstanding music faculty

http://www.msjc.edu/PerformingArts/MVC/Documents/MVCPerformArts2015-16.pdf

Box Office/Reservation Line: 951-639-5790

 

Psychology Club Welcomes Magician, Mark Collier

Mar. 14, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407

Mark Collier was Strolling Magician of the Year at Hollywood’s Magic Castle

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubMagicianSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Critical Thinking & Writing Workshop

Mar. 15, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 951

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CriticalThinkingAndWritingSkillsWorkshopsSP16MVC.pdf

For more information contact Carol Coffin at ccoffin@msjc.edu

 

MSJC-CSUSM Business Degree Info Session

Mar. 15, 5:30 pm, THE Center Rm. 217

http://www.msjc.edu/CSUSMBusiness/Pages/Orientation-Schedule.aspx

For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu

 

Pre-Med Club: Medical Scribe Program

Mar. 15, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805

All You Need to Know to Become a Medical Scribe

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PreMedClubSP16.pdf

For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu

 

Commencement Regalia Orders

Mar. 15 Deadline

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CommencementRegaliaSP16.pdf

For more information contact Jill Lanphere at 951-487-3401 or jlanphere@msjc.edu

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

Mar. 17, Tangible purchases

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PurchasingCutOffDates2016.pdf

 

Angel Bin Shoe Donation Drive

Through Mar. 21, Drop-Off Locations on MVC & SJC

Classified Senate Fundraiser

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/AngelBinShoeDonationFlyerSP16.pdf

For more information contact Julie Baker at 951-639-5557 or jbaker@msjc.edu

 

Active Shooter Training & Exercise

Mar. 21, SJC

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Active-Shooter-Training-and-Exercise.aspx

 

Art Gallery Exhibit

Ends Mar. 31, M-Th, 10:00 am – 4 pm, SJC Art Gallery

Beach Bodies featuring works by Emma Gray, Justin Hansch and Caleb Lyons

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Art-Gallery-Exhibit-Beach-Bodies.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu or visit msjc.edu/artgallery

 

Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket

Fridays, SJC

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/City-of-San-Jacinto-to-Change-Street-Sweeping-Day-to-Fridays.aspx

 

Vehicle Safety Reminder

All students, faculty, staff and visitors are advised to lock their vehicles and keep windows closed. Secure valuables and keep them out of view in order to prevent vehicle burglary. If you see any suspicious activity, please notify the MSJC Campus Safety Office at 951-639-5188. In emergencies, please dial 911.

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings for students, faculty and staff on software and more!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuys2016-March1.pdf

 

Financial Aid Services Available

Every Monday, 8:30 am – 5:30 pm, TEC Rm. 116

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FAOatTEC-SP16Flyer.pdf

 

Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds

The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families

Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

March Bulletin: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/March2016-NationalBulletin.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf