Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-12-2016

Weekly Round-Up 4-12-2016

Save the Dates

 

Veterans Resource Center & Brandman University Host: Red, White and Blue Shoe Drive

Apr. 21 Donation Deadline: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/VetsShoeDriveFlyer2016.pdf

 

San Jacinto Run United

Apr. 23: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/RUN-United5K-Flyer2016.pdf

 

Risk Management Supervisor Academy

Apr. 28: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Supervisor-Academy.aspx

 

Employee Appreciation Day

Apr. 29:  http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Employee-Appreciation-Day-2016.aspx

 

San Jacinto Valley Women’s Conference Scholarship

Apr. 30th Deadline to Apply: http://www.sjvwc.com/scholarship-winners---application.html

 

 

Clothes Line Project

Apr. 12 – 29, SJC Quad

Shirts painted to express emotions against sexual assault and domestic violence will be displayed on the metal fence surrounding the MSJC eagle statue

For more information contact Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu

 

Job Skills Workshops

Apr. 12, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 110 Resume & Cover Letter

Apr. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927 Interview

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

Apr. 12, 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University

Apr. 12, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University

Apr. 13, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Grand Canyon University

Apr. 14, 10:00 am – 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Azusa Pacific University

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Apr. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408

A presentation by a Menifee City Council person representing the MSJC area

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

STEM Orientations

Apr. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 504/SJC Rm. 1250A

STEM Program Orientations are open to all students

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMeventCalendarSP16.pdf

For more information contact Erin Spurbeck at 951-639-5398 or espurbeck@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting                                                                                                                                                                 

Apr. 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Apr. 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212, Oral Communication Skills/Oral Presentations

Apr. 13, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112, Steps to Transfer

Apr. 13, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486, Integrating Source Material

Apr. 19, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410, Writing a Research Paper

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Critical Thinking & Writing Workshop

Apr. 12, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 951

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CriticalThinkingAndWritingSkillsWorkshopsSP16MVC.pdf

For more information contact Carol Coffin at ccoffin@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

Apr. 13, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club Meeting

Apr. 13, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 415

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubMeetingsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Career/Transfer Center Workshop

Apr. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106, Steps to Transfer

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Softball Home Games

Apr. 13 & 15, 3:00 pm, MVC Diamond

Come cheer on the Lady Eagles!

For more information contact Gina Oliver at 951-639-5590 or goliver@msjc.edu

 

Humanities Film Festival

Apr. 13, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407

“Cinema as Art and Life: the Films of Ingmar Bergman” Persona (1966)

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanitiesFilmsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Apr. 13, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Lady Valor

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Human Trafficking Presentation

Apr. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Speaker Anne-Michelle Ellis is the original Coordinator for the San Bernardino County Coalition Against Sexual Exploitation

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanTraffickingSP16flyer.pdf

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshop

Apr. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255, Grammar Practice

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Human Rights Film Series

Apr. 14, 3:30 pm, SJC Theatre

“It Happened Here: Stories of Sexual Assault on Campus,” sponsored by the Diversity Committee

For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu

 

The Great Gatsby

Apr. 14, 15, 16, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

Apr. 17, 2:00 pm

F. Scott Fitzgerald’s “The Great Gatsby” adapted for the stage by Simon Levy and Directed by Carol Damgen

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-announces-performances-of-The-Great-Gatsby.aspx

For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-639-5793 or spowell@msjc.edu

 

Student Equity and Success Presentation

Apr. 15, 8:15 am, SJC Rm. 200

21st Century Leadership: a Culturally Competent Student Focused Approach for Equity, Diversity, and Inclusion, by Dr. Welch

For more information contact Brett Dooley at 951-487-3501 or bdooley@msjc.edu

 

Musical: She Loves Me

Apr. 15, 16, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre

Apr. 17, 2:30 pm

“She Loves Me,” a romantic musical comedy, by Joe Masteroff, Jerry Bock and Sheldon Harnick

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SheLovesMeFlyerSP16.pdf

For more information contact Payden Ackerman, Theatre Department Chair, at 951-487-3791 or packerman@msjc.edu

 

Colleague and Administrator of the Year Nominations

Apr. 15 Deadline: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Colleague-and-Administrator-of-the-Year-Nominations-2016.aspx

Email completed forms to Debbie Perez-Flores at dflores@msjc.edu

 

Newport Road Interchange Construction

Through Apr. 15 on I-215, MVC, Newport Road and surrounding surface street traffic delays to MVC, plan for extra travel time & alternative routes

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/NewportMenifeeMerge.pdf

 

Eagle Career Day

Apr. 16, 9:00 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

High School students and their parents can learn about career interests, job options and salary ranges, attend information sessions and panels with MSJC students, and tour the campus.

http://www.msjc.edu/cte/Documents/EagleCareerDays2016.pdf

For more information contact Karie White at 951-639-5281 or kwhite@msjc.edu

 

Religious Understanding Day

Apr. 16, 9:00 am, SJC Library

Religious Understanding Day 2016, hosted by the Diversity Committee

For more information contact Michael Madrigal at kwinyil@gmail.com

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Apr. 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408

Park Avenue: Money, Power & the American Dream

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Blackboard and EagleAdvisor Separating

Apr. 28, 2016: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BlackboardAndEagleAdvisorSeparationSP16.pdf

 

Nominate an Outstanding Student to be awarded at Honors Convocation

Due by Apr. 29: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HonorsConvocation-NominationForm2016.pdf

 

Veterans Resource Center April Newsletter

http://www.msjc.edu/VRC/Documents/VRCnewsApril2016.pdf

 

Foundation Hosts: Jack Russell’s Great White Concert

May 7, 6:00 pm, Wiens Family Cellars, 35055 Via Del Ponte, Temecula 92592

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Jack-Russells-Great-White.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Fiscal-Year-End-Cut-Off-Dates-2016.aspx

 

EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for Fall 2016 Semester

Apply through July 22nd: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket

Fridays, SJC

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/City-of-San-Jacinto-to-Change-Street-Sweeping-Day-to-Fridays.aspx

 

Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds

The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families

Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

Bulletin: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-April2016NationalBulletin.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

HR-Wellness Connection

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-WellnessConnectionSP16.pdf

 

Business Services Email Addresses

Use these emails to help expedite your requests: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Business-Services-Emails.aspx

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf