Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-26-2016

Weekly Round-Up 4-26-2016

Nominate an Outstanding Student to be awarded at Honors Convocation

Deadline: Apr. 29 http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HonorsConvocation-NominationForm2016.pdf

 

PTK Lei Sale for Graduation

Deadline: Apr. 29 http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Pre-order-Leis-for-Graduation.aspx

 

 

Grad Fair

Apr. 26, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Bookstore

Everything you need to know about graduating, all in one place!

http://www.msjc.edu/Graduation/Documents/GradFairPoster16sm.pdf

For more information contact Justin Naish at 951-639-5133 or jnaish@msjc.edu

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

Apr. 26, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Grand Canyon University

Apr. 27, 10:30 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Santa Cruz

Apr. 28, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Azusa Pacific University

May 3, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Grand Canyon University

May 3, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UCR STEM Bourns College of Engineering

May 3, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University

May 3, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, National University

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Co-Ed Self Defense Class

Apr. 26, 12:30 pm, SJC Gym

Learn to protect yourself using realistic techniques; wear normal clothing but bring soft soled shoes

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CoedSelfDefenseSP16.pdf

For more information contact Fred Frontino at 951-639-5301 or ffrontino@msjc.edu

 

Executive Senate Meeting                                                                                                                                                                 

Apr. 26, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Denim Day

Apr. 27, All Campuses

Everyone is encouraged to wear jeans with a purpose!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/DenimDayHistory.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/DenimDaySP16.pdf

For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu

 

Clothesline Project

Apr. 27 – 28, 10:00 am – 3:30 pm, MVC Quad

Shirts painted to express emotions against sexual assault and domestic violence will be displayed in the LRC

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

Apr. 27, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club Meeting

Apr. 27, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 415

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubMeetingsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Critical Thinking & Writing Workshop

Apr. 27, 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CriticalThinkingAndWritingSkillsWorkshopsSP16MVC.pdf

For more information contact Carol Coffin at ccoffin@msjc.edu

 

Auditions: Student Speakers for Graduation

Apr. 27, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200

Students should prepare a 3-5 minute speech focused on this year's theme: “Celebrating Access, Your Key to Achievement and Opportunity”

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StudentSpeakerAuditionLtr2016.pdf

For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

Apr. 27, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486, Improving Your Writing Style

Apr. 28, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107B, I Applied, What’s Next?

Apr. 28, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416, Applying for All-USA & Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Apr. 27, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Speakers on Islam

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

History Club Film Series

Apr. 27, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407

A Voice Among the Silent: The Legacy of James G. McDonald

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HistoryFilmSeriesSpring16.pdf

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Grad Fair

Apr. 28, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, SJC Bookstore

Everything you need to know about graduating, all in one place!

http://www.msjc.edu/Graduation/Documents/GradFairPoster16sm.pdf

For more information contact Justin Naish at 951-639-5133 or jnaish@msjc.edu

 

Honors Student Research Conference Presentation

Apr. 28, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200

Come and hear about the exciting research Honors students are conducting

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HonorsResearchConferenceSP16flyer.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu

 

Privilege Workshop

Apr. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 419

Drs. Frank Harris and J. Luke Wood discuss the causes and consequences of personal privilege

For more information contact Morgan Hoodenpyle at mhoodenpyle@msjc.edu

 

Math Faculty Forum

Apr. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 488

Math faculty who have worked in various math related fields share their stories and answer questions

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MathForumSP16Flyer.pdf

For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

Apr. 28, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Israel vs. Israel

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/IsraelvsIsraelsp16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Risk Management Supervisor Academy

Apr. 28, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Supervisor-Academy.aspx

RSVP by April 21st to Barb Oberg at boberg@msjc.edu or contact Barb at 951-487-3135

 

Human Rights Film Series

Apr. 28, 3:30 pm, SJC Theatre

“India’s Daughter”

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/India'sDaughter.pdf

For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu

 

MSJC-CSUSM Business Degree Info Session

Apr. 28, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Earn your AA and BSBA in Business Administration from MSJC and CSUSM within four years

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/CSUSM-Business-Degree-Information-Sessions.aspx

For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu

 

Blackboard and EagleAdvisor Separating

Apr. 28, 2016: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BlackboardAndEagleAdvisorSeparationSP16.pdf

 

Employee Appreciation Day

Apr. 29, 9:00 am, MVC Softball Field 

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Employee-Appreciation-Day-2016.aspx

 

Speech Tournament

Apr. 29, 9:30 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 479

Students showcase their speaking skills with informative, persuasive, and dramatic interpretation presentations

For more information contact Ron Newman, Tournament Director at 951-639-5628 or rnewman@msjc.edu

 

Clothes Line Project

Ends Apr. 29, SJC Quad

Shirts painted to express emotions against sexual assault and domestic violence are displayed on the metal fence surrounding the MSJC eagle statue

For more information contact Tamara Smith at 951-487-3644 or tsmith@msjc.edu

 

Eagle Career Day

Apr. 30, 9:00 am – 1:30 pm, SJC Theatre

High School students and their parents can learn about career interests, job options and salary ranges, attend information sessions and panels with MSJC students, and tour the campus

http://www.msjc.edu/cte/Documents/EagleCareerDays2016.pdf

For more information contact Jenna Huntzinger at 951-487-3437 or jhuntzinger@msjc.edu

 

San Jacinto Valley Women’s Conference Scholarship

Apr. 30th Deadline to Apply: http://www.sjvwc.com/scholarship-winners---application.html

 

PTK Induction Ceremony

May 1, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Spring 2016 Phi Theta Kappa Induction Ceremony

For more information contact Richard Rowley at 951-639-5627 or rrowley@msjc.edu

 

Concert Band

May 1, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre

Winds of May Concert

For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790

 

Open Enrollment

May 2, 8:00 am – 11: 30 am, SJC Rm. 200

May 2, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Employees can review new plans and make any changes to existing Health & Welfare

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-OpenEnrollmentFlyerAP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-REEPWellness2016Anthem-UHCflyer.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-REEPWellness2016KaiserRewardsFlyer.pdf

For more information contact Lanell Covington-James at 951-487-3155 or ljames@msjc.edu

 

Job Skills Workshop

May 2, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C Interview

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Human Trafficking Presentation

May 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Library

Anne-Michelle Ellis, the original Coordinator for the San Bernardino County Coalition Against Sexual Exploitation

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanTraffickingSP16flyer.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Announces-Human-Trafficking-Presentation.aspx

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Book of the Month Club

May 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453

God Help the Child, by Toni Morrison

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BOMclubMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu

 

Foundation Hosts: Jack Russell’s Great White Concert

May 7, 6:00 pm, Wiens Family Cellars, 35055 Via Del Ponte, Temecula 92592

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Jack-Russells-Great-White.aspx

 

19th Annual Scholarship Award Ceremony

May 11, 11:30 am, Wilson Creek Winery

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FoundationScholarshipAwardCeremony2016.pdf

 

Art Gallery Exhibition: OPEN-Have a Look

Through May 12, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm M-Th, SJC Art Gallery

Apr. 19, 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm, Opening Reception

The Annual Student Art Exhibition

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Annual-Student-Art-Exhibition.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Fiscal-Year-End-Cut-Off-Dates-2016.aspx

 

Summer Classes!

Classes begin June 6th and June 20th

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Registration-Open-for-Summer-School-at-MSJC.aspx

 

Summer 2016 – District Operating Schedule

June 6 – August 7

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Summer-2016-District-Operating-Schedule.aspx

 

EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for Fall 2016 Semester

Apply through July 22nd: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

Veterans Resource Center April Newsletter

http://www.msjc.edu/VRC/Documents/VRCnewsApril2016.pdf

 

College Buys

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysApr2016.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysApril2016.pdf

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

Bulletin: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-April2016NationalBulletin.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf