Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 4-7-2015

Weekly Round-Up 4-7-2015

Emergency Phone Numbers
MSJC Police Dispatch:                   Inter-Campus Phones: Extension 7777
From outside line or Cell:  951-639-5188 (7:00 a.m. – 11:00 p.m.)
Text messages: 951-903-3766
Local Police - MVC, SJC, TEM:    Non-Emergency 951-776-1099
Banning Police - SGP:                    951-922-3170
Emergency:                                                   911
Mistake 911 Calls: Please Do Not Hang Up! Stay on the line and let the dispatcher know they were dialed by mistake, to alleviate an automatic physical response by police.
 
Summer Schedule Online Now
Summer Classes Begin June 8 & June 22
 
Sexual Awareness Month Donation Drive: SWANS Club is holding a bra donation drive to assist victims of sexual assault in our district
Now through Apr. 30th
 
Save the Date:
Sonnets For An Old Century
Apr. 16 - 19
 
 
Academic Senate Council Elections
Deadline Apr. 7, Noon
Faculty and Associate Faculty - Cast your vote now:
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Apr. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D
The Overnighters” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Film Series
Apr. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Undocumented
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Apr. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 111 – UC/CSU Differences
Apr. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 970/SJC Rm. 111 – Networking
Apr. 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 970/SJC Rm. 111 – Career Exploration
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Apr. 7, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Apr. 9, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Using MLA
Apr. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Apr. 14, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Communication Skills/Oral Presentations
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Apr. 7, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
Apr. 7, 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Maria Aquino at 951-487-3481 or maquino@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Apr. 7, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486 – Avoiding Plagiarism
Apr. 9, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Using MLA
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Apr. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 155 – Operations on Decimals
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
MVC Parking Lot C Partial Closure
Apr. 9, 6:00 am – Apr. 10, 3:00 pm, MVC Parking Lot C
Menifee Valley Campus parking lot C will be partially closed for the Career & Job Fair to be held Friday, Apr. 10th from 10:00 am – 1:30 pm
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Apr. 9, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 805
For more information contact Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery Closing Reception
Apr. 9, 12:00 pm – 2:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Closing reception for the art exhibit Life, Death and Rebirth through the temporal beauty of flowers
For more information contact Royce Bunyard at 951-487-3585 or rbunyard @msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Apr. 9, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Bio-GeoChemistry, with Timothy Lyons
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
All Faculty Meeting
Apr. 10, 9:00 am, THE Center, Rm. 204
Temecula Higher Education Center, 43200 Business Park Drive, 92590
For more information contact Jill Lanphere at 951-487-3401 or jlanphere@msjc.edu
 
Career and Job Fair
Apr. 10, 10:00 am, MVC Parking Lot C
Featuring employers, colleges and universities, hosted by the Career/Transfer Center, STEM Program and California Family Life Center
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Apr. 10, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 453
The Maid’s Version, Daniel Woodrell, (176 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
$5000 Business Competition Meeting
Apr. 10, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 932
“Shark Tank-Like” student competition: pitch your business to investors
For more information contact Denis Nurmela at dnurmela@msjc.edu
 
Child Development Center Fundraiser: Scholastic Book Fair
Ends Apr. 10, 5:30 pm, MVC Building 700 Lobby
All profits go towards classroom books and materials for the Child Development Center
For more information contact Nancy Alvarado at 951-639-5605 or nalvarado@msjc.edu
 
Musical: “You’re a Good Man, Charlie Brown”
Apr. 10, 11, 17, 18, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
Apr. 12, 19, 2:30 pm
Based on the comic strip “Peanuts” by Charles M. Schulz
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Religious Understanding Day
Apr. 11, 9:00 am, SJC Library
An exciting interfaith dialogue: Welcoming Strangers to a New Land: Immigration and Migration and our Faith
For more information contact Michael Madrigal at 951-654-2432 or kwinyil@gmail.com
 
“Ragtime the Musical”
Ends Apr. 11, Riverside City College Landis Performing Arts Center
Dr. Bill Vincent performs in Ragtime the Musical
 
SGA Campaigning
Apr. 13 – 17, MVC/SJC
Open campaigning for Student Government Association elections
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
Apr. 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Apr. 14, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Walk in the Vines for Autism Awareness
Apr. 26, 9:00 am, Leoness Cellars Winery, 38311 DePortola Rd., Temecula, 92592
 
New Book Store Hours
Through Apr. 30, 9:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC & SJC
For more information contact Kara McGee at 951-487-3135 or kmcgee@msjc.edu
 
Graduation Information
May 29, 6:00 pm, Ramona Bowl Amphitheatre
 
Air Conditioning Control System Upgrades
Through end of May, SJC
 
District Letterhead
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link.
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone