Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 5-10-2016

Weekly Round-Up 5-10-2016

Keep MSJC #1: Best of the Inland Empire (formerly Readers’ Choice)

Vote now to keep MSJC in the #1 spot for Colleges and Schools in The Press-Enterprise Best of the IE Awards.

You can vote once a day between now and June 3rd. Click here to vote: http://voteiebest.pe.com

 

Student Equity Webinar

Teaching Men of Color in the Community College

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Student-Equity-Webinar.aspx

 

Save the Dates:

ROS Office Supply – New Ordering Process Training

May 18, 10 am, SJC Rm. 200

May 20, 10 am, MVC Rm. 805

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Training-for-Office-Supply-Ordering-Process.aspx

 

 

Open Enrollment

May 10, 8:00 am – 11: 30 am, MVC Rm. 805

May 10, 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200

May 11, 8:00 am – 11:30 am, SJC Rm. 200

May 11, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Employees can review new plans and make any changes to existing Health & Welfare

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Open-Enrollment-Meetings-2016.aspx

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-OpenEnrollmentFlyerAP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-REEPWellness2016Anthem-UHCflyer.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-REEPWellness2016KaiserRewardsFlyer.pdf

For more information contact Lanell Covington-James at 951-487-3155 or ljames@msjc.edu

 

American Red Cross Blood Drive

May 10, 9:00 am, MVC by the LRC

Hosted by the Communication Club

For more information contact David Moss at 951-639-5626 or emoss@msjc.edu

 

Job Skills Workshop

May 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 110 - Soft Skills

May 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 - Internship

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

May 10, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Fashion Institute of Design & Merchandising

May 10, 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University

May 11, 9:30 am – 12:30 pm, SGP Bldg. 100, Azusa Pacific University

May 12, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Grand Canyon University

May 17, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Rosa Jimenez at 951-922-2215 or rjimenez@msjc.edu

 

London or Spain Study Abroad Information Session

May 10, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106

Learn how to earn transferable credit while studying and traveling abroad

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/LondonSpainFA16flyer.pdf

For more information contact Shartelle Fears, at 951-639-5397 or sfears@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshops

May 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255, Blue Book Tips

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting                                                                                                                                                                 

May 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

May 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408

Reclaiming the Education Master Plan, featuring Amy Hines

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Critical Thinking & Writing Workshop

May 10, 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CriticalThinkingAndWritingSkillsWorkshopsSP16MVC.pdf

For more information contact Carol Coffin at ccoffin@msjc.edu

 

Honors Convocation

May 10, 5:30 pm, SJC Library

Honors students awards ceremony

For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

May 11, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

Scholarship Award Ceremony

May 11, 11:00 am, Wilson Creek Winery

Annual scholarship awards hosted by the MSJC Foundation

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FoundationScholarshipAwardCeremony2016.pdf

For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3170 or lnavarro@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

May 11, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421, Stress Management

May 11, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 486, Revising Drafts

May 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410, Using MLA and APA

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club Meeting

May 11, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 415

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/PsychClubMeetingsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

May 11, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Utopia

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Musical Auditions: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee

May 11, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 207

Tony Award and Drama Desk Award winning Broadway musical

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Auditions-for-fall-musical.aspx

For more information contact Shezwae Powell at 951-639-5793 or spowell@msjc.edu

 

Subway Restaurant Job Fair

May 12, 11:00 am – 4:00 pm, MVC Quad

Subway Sandwich Shops will be conducting on-the-spot interviews

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Subway-Restaurant-Job-Fairs.aspx

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

High School Senior Day

May 12, 12:00 – 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1120

Outreach hosts this open house event with campus tours and application, assessment, orientation, and counseling assistance

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HighSchoolSrDay2016flyer.pdf

For more information contact Beth Bowles, Outreach, at 951-639-5313 or bbowles@msjc.edu

 

Financial Aid Awareness Day

May 12, 12:00 – 7:00 pm, SJC Quad

Financial Aid presentations, information tables, tours and FAFSA assistance will be provided

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FinAidSP6FlyerMVC.pdf

For more information contact Fantaya Willingham at 951-487-3243 or fwillingham@msjc.edu

 

Human Rights Film Series

May 12, 12:00 pm, SJC Theatre

"Making a Killing: Guns, Greed and the NRA"

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Human-rights-film-screening-on-the-San-Jacinto-Campus.aspx

For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu

 

Talon Talks Presentation

May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

“Sustainable Solutions for the Department of Veterans Affairs,” by Charles Wolfe

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TalonTalksSustainableSolutionsFlyer.pdf

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Art Gallery Exhibition: OPEN-Have a Look

Ends May 12, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery

The Annual Student Art Exhibition

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Annual-Student-Art-Exhibition.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Astrophysics Club Lecture

May 12, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Exoplanets, the Multiverse, and Gravity Waves, with astronomer, Dr. Virginia Trimble

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Astrophysics-Club-Welcomes-Astronomer-Dr-Virginia-Trimble.aspx

For more information contact Mark Maier at 951-639-5412 or mmaier@msjc.edu

 

Menifee Jazz Ensemble

May 12 & 13, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

A high-energy blend of contemporary and standard big band sounds

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Menifee-Valley-Campus-Music-Department-Spring-Concerts-2016.aspx

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Faculty Dance Concert

May 12, 13 & 14, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre

An eclectic evening of dance

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Dance-Conert-on-the-San-Jacinto-Campus.aspx

For more information contact Julie Freeman at 951-487-3630 or jfreeman@msjc.edu

 

Creative Writing Club Meeting

May 13, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212

Students will receive advice and support on their creative writing projects

For more information contact club advisor Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu

 

Sunset Off-Ramp/Grade Separation Project Open House

May 13, 4:30 pm, San Gorgonio Pass Campus

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/San-Gorgonio-Pass-Campus-Open-House.aspx

For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu

 

Talon Talks Panel

May 13, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

“War and Money: Projecting the American Dream”

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Talon-Talks-Panel.aspx

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Recycled Arts & Fashion Show

May 13, 6:30 pm, Monte De Oro Winery & Vineyards

Featuring eco-friendly alternative art and fashion, hand-crafted from repurposed and discarded materials

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/5th-Annual-Recycled-Art-Fashion-Show.aspx

For more information contact Eileen Doktorski at 951-487-3580 or edoktorski@msjc.edu

 

Guitar Ensemble Concert

May 14, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

The group performs various musical styles

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Menifee-Valley-Campus-Music-Department-Spring-Concerts-2016.aspx

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Menifee Campus Singers

May 14, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

Standard choral music and fresh arrangements of seasonal and popular songs

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Menifee-Valley-Campus-Music-Department-Spring-Concerts-2016.aspx

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Music Student Showcase

May 15, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

A concert showcasing the musical talents of students

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Menifee-Valley-Campus-Music-Department-Spring-Concerts-2016.aspx

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Honors Enrichment Program Orientations

May 16, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200

May 17, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 487

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HonorsOrientationsFA15.pdf

For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu

 

Photography Exhibition

May 17 – 19, 24 – 26, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923

May 20, 5:00 pm, Open House

Advanced student and professional production class photography work

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Photography-Exhibit-2016.aspx

For more information contact Melissa Welch at 951-639-5684 or mwelch@msjc.edu

 

Academic Executive Senate Meeting                                                                                                                                                                 

May 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

PTK Lei Sale for Graduation

Ends May 19: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Pre-order-Leis-for-Graduation.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Fiscal-Year-End-Cut-Off-Dates-2016.aspx

 

Summer Classes!

Classes begin June 6th and June 20th

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Registration-Open-for-Summer-School-at-MSJC.aspx

 

Summer 2016 – District Operating Schedule

June 6 – August 7

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Summer-2016-District-Operating-Schedule.aspx

 

EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for Fall 2016 Semester

Apply through July 22nd: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

College Buys

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysMay2016.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysMay.pdf

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider                                                                                                                                                                

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf