Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 5-12-2015

Weekly Round-Up 5-12-2015

Vote MSJC as #1 College in Reader’s Choice Awards!
Under “Shopping & Services” category, scroll down to “Best College or School”
 
American Appraisers Physical Inventory of District’s Capital Equipment
 
ASL/English Interpreting Program is seeking students for Fall 2015
For more information contact Leslie Greer at 951-639-5399 or lgreer@msjc.edu
 
Save The Date:
Scholarship Breakfast
May 20, 8:00 am, Country Club at Soboba Springs
 
 
 
Photography Exhibition
May 12, 9:00 am – May 14, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
An exhibition of advanced student and professional production class photography work
For more information contact Melissa Ott at 951-639-5684 or mott@msjc.edu
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Session
May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Learn about earning your AA and BSBA in Business Administration within four years
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 111 – Steps to Transfer
May 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 111 – Career Exploration
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
May 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Grammar Brush Up
May 13, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Colons & Semicolons
May 18, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – APA/MLA Formats
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
May 12, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
MSJC/CBU Online Bachelor’s Degree Program Information Sessions
May 12, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 1250D
May 13, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 1250D
Learn about twenty-one Bachelor Degree Programs offered through MSJC and California Baptist University Online
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band Spring Concert
May 12, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The MSJC Trombone Choir will join the Concert Band
Call the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
National Nurses Week
Ends May 12
National Nurses Week begins each year on May 6th and ends on May 12, the Birthday of Florence Nightingale, widely known founder of modern nursing
 
CSEA Meeting
May 13, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Kaye Melsheimer at 951-639-5523 or kmelsheimer@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
May 13, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
It Can’t Happen Here” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
History and Humanities Guest Speaker: Miko Peled
May 13, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Miko Peled will discuss current politics in the Middle East
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
Honors Convocation
May 13, 6:00 pm, SJC Library
Recognizing students for their academic achievements and contributions.
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Associate Faculty Parking Permit
May 14, 8:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111
Parking permits will be distributed to Associate Faculty
For more information contact Lana May at 951-487-3182 or lmay@msjc.edu
 
High School Senior Day
May 14, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1120B
To help ease the transition from high school to college
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
Puente Information Sessions
May 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1202
May 18, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217
Puente Program is recruiting for Fall 2015/Spring 2016
For more information contact Alma Ramirez at 951-487-3645 or alramirez@msjc.edu
 
STEM Orientations
May 14, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 419/SJC Rm. 156
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film Series
May 14, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 415
Egypt Uncovered: Mummies-Into the Afterlife
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Jazz Ensemble
May 14, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
May 15,       “                    “
A high-energy blend of contemporary and standard big band sounds
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day
May 15, 8:30 am, MVC Ball Field
 
Business Competition
May 16, 10:00 am, MVC Rms. 950 & 951
Students compete in a “Shark-Tank” style competition to receive start-up funds for a business
For more information contact Denis Nurmela at dnurmela@msjc.edu
 
Guitar Ensemble
May 16, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Classical guitar in an intimate setting
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Food Truck Festival
May 16, 4:00 pm, MVC
Sponsored by Menifee United Way, MSJC, Boys & Girls Club Menifee Valley, The Bank of Hemet, RSVP, Menifee Animal Clinic
For more information and vendor opportunities contact Denise at 951-929-9691.
 
Menifee Campus Singers
May 16, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Fine choral group performs wonderful arrangements of colorful songs
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Music Student Showcase
May 17, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
Solo and small group performances by several talented singers and instrumentalists
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
May 18, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Using MLA and APA
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Pre-Med Workshop
May 18, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Dr. Nick Samadani, MD, will discuss tips and strategies to help get in to medical school
For more information contact Nick Reeves at 951-639-5735 or nreeves@msjc.edu
 
UC Irvine Welcome Session
May 19, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 927
UC Irvine is offering a Welcome Session for admitted transfer students to answer questions before submitting your SIR
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Retirement Reception for Larry Barkley
May 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
A retirement celebration for Larry's twenty-five year tenure here at MSJC
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
May 19, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
May 19, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Employee Recognition Day
May 21, 2:00 pm, SJC Library
 
Graduation Information
May 29, 6:00 pm, Ramona Bowl Amphitheatre
 
Air Conditioning Control System Upgrades
Through end of May, SJC
 
Foundation Raise the Bar Campaign
May – Aug. 14 Choose a donation plan to show your support for students and programs
 
Mentor Interviews in May
Contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
Summer District Operating Schedule
June 1 – Aug. 7
 
Annual Open Enrollment for Benefits
Ends Jun. 4
Open enrollment period for all permanent district employees
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Summer Classes Begin
June 8 & June 22
Summer Schedule Online Now
 
Brandman University Offers Scholarships for MSJC Employees
 
Corinthian Colleges Closure
 
Emergency Phone Numbers
 
District Letterhead
Submit a supply requisition to the Warehouse SJC or Central Distribution MVC to order. Letterhead is $38.00 per ream or $9.50/quarter ream (125 sheets). 
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link.
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone