Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 5-2-2017

Weekly Round-Up 5-2-2017

SJC Football/Soccer Field and Track Closed for Renovations

Now – August http://www.msjc.edu/MeasureAA/Pages/Athletic-Fields-SJC.aspx

 

American Fidelity – Section 125 Plans - Open Enrollment

Now – June 12 http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-Section125PlansAppointmentFlier.pdf

 

Save the Date:

May 26, 5:30 pm, Graduation, Ramona Bowl Amphitheatre

GraduationDates2017.pdf, CommencementInfoFulltimeFaculty2017.pdf

 

SGA Institutional Effectiveness Meetings

May 2, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

May 9, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

University Representatives

May 2, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 UC Irvine

May 4, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 Grand Canyon University

May 8, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 CSU San Marcos-Temecula

May 8, 4:00 pm, TEC Bellevue University

May 9, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 National University

May 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Baptist University

Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information

CareerTransferUniversityRepsSP17.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

EVDO - Veterans Club

May 2, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 911/SJC Rm. 1111

Eagles Veterans and Dependent Organization invites all who wish to support veterans on campus and in the community

For more information contact Mary Lou Dillard at 951-487-3248 or mdillard@msjc.edu

 

Creative Writing Club

May 2, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 603

May 9, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 603

Work on your writing, improve your creativity, socialize, and get involved on campus

For more information contact Susan Winslow at 951-639-5640 or swinslow@msjc.edu or Brenee Wright at 951-487-3648 or bwright@msjc.edu

 

“Making Some Positive Changes” Workshops

May 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1420

May 3, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 415

May 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1420

Student workshops on seeking safety, stability and strength through making positive changes

PositiveChangeWorkshopsFlier.pdf

For more information contact Claudia Gutierrez at 951-487-3253 or cgutierrez@msjc.edu

 

San Francisco Police Department Hiring Event

May 2, 1:30 pm, Mt. San Antonio College

May 3, 1:30 pm, Golden West College

May 4, 1:30 pm, Palomar College

The Administration of Justice Club announces hiring event for those interested in a career in law enforcement

SFPD-HiringFlier.pdf

For more information contact Tony Farrar at 951-487-3505 or wfarrar@msjc.edu

 

Concert Band Rehearsals

May 2, 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1602

May 9, 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1602

The MSJC Concert Band rehearsals are every Tuesday night at 7

For more information contact John Tribelhorn at 951-487-3641 or jtribelhorn@msjc.edu

 

Career/Transfer Workshop

May 3, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 Career & Coffee Forum: Social Behavioral Sciences

Please RSVP for workshops: CTC RSVP Form

CareerTransferWorkshopsFlierSP17.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Aimee Bravo at 951-487-3285 or abravo@msjc.edu

 

Rotaract Club

May 3, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 1008

Help build goodwill by serving the community through causes for the military, health, education and economy

For more information contact Holly Fernandez at hfernandez@msjc.edu

 

SGA College Activities Meeting

May 4, 8:30 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

Book of the Month Club

May 4, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 453

LaRose, by Louise Erdrich, 384 pages

BookOfTheMonthClubSP17MVC.pdf

For more information contact Audrey Holod at 951-639-5654 or aholod@msjc.edu

 

I Can Afford College

May 4, 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm, MVC Quad

May 11, 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm, SJC Quad

FAFSA and DREAM presentations and assistance available

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FinancialAid.pdf

For more information contact Fantaya Willingham at 951-487-3243 or fwillingham@msjc.edu

 

High School Senior Days

May 4, 12:00 pm – 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1018A

May 11, 12:00 pm – 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1120B

Open House includes campus tours, enrollment and financial aid services, assessment exam and more

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Hosts-High-School-Senior-Days.aspx

For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5313 or bbowles@msjc.edu

 

Art Talk with Mara De Luca

May 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Art Gallery

The Art Gallery hosts an Art Talk with Mara De Luca, a Los Angeles based painter

ArtGalDeLuca.pdf

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Students for Environmental Action and Leadership (SEAL)

May 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 1010

For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshop

May 4, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Understanding Commas

Writing Workshops help students gain confidence in their writing abilities

WritingWorkshopsSP17MVC.pdf           WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP17.pdf

For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

London Study Abroad Info Session

May 4, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106

Learn how to earn transferrable credit while studying and travelling abroad

For more information contact Linda Lang at 951-639-5397 or llang@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

May 4, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Understanding Commas

May 8, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 305 Panic Reduction

Workshops are open to all students, sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program

ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP17.pdf                  ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP17.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

CSUSM-MSJC Business Degree Program Info Session

May 4, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412

Earn an associate degree from MSJC in 2 years and a bachelor’s in Business from CSUSM in another 2 years

For more information contact Karie White at 951-487-3409 or kwhite@msjc.edu

 

Western Science Center Lecture Series

May 4, 7:00 pm, WSC Theater, 2345 Searl Pkwy, Hemet

Milton’s Literature of Dissent: Pursuing Freedoms in Pre-Restoration England

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Western-Science-Center-Lecture-Series-sp17.aspx

For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Dance Concert “Here and Now”

May 4, 5, 6, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

May 7, 2:00 pm

Dancers will perform original work choreographed by students and faculty

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Dance-Concerts-at-Menifee-Valley-Campus-and-San-Jacinto-Campus-in-May.aspx

For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu

 

Dance Concert “SJC Grooves”

May 4, 5, 6, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre

May 7, 2:30 pm

Dancers perform original work choreographed by students and faculty

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Dance-Concerts-at-Menifee-Valley-Campus-and-San-Jacinto-Campus-in-May.aspx

For more information contact Julie Freeman at 951-487-3630 or jfreeman@msjc.edu

 

Brown Act & Public Information Live Webinar

May 5, 9:00 am – Noon, MVC Rm. 969

Live webinar on Public Meeting Law (the Brown Act) and Public Records Act

Public Meeting Law and PRA Education Announcement.pdf

For more information contact Secret Brown at 951-487-3167 or sebrown@msjc.edu

 

Southwest Riverside County Regional Adult Ed AEBG Community Forum

May 5, 10:00 am, THEC Rm. 204

Yearly forum for partners, executive committee and community members

SRCAEBG-CommunityForumAgenda5.5.17.pdf      SRCAERC-PublicForumInvitation5.7.17.pdf

For more information contact Amy Campbell at 951-506-6957 or acampbell@msjc.edu

 

SGA Legislative Meeting

May 5, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

Business Competition

May 5, 3:00 pm, MVC Rms. 950 & 951

Annual “Shark Tank-Like” business competition for student entrepreneurs

BusinessCompetitionFlier.pdf

For more information contact Denis Nurmela at dnurmela@msjc.edu

 

American Sign Language Fundraiser

May 5, 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927

A Night of Disney Classics: MSJC's senior Interpreter Preparation Program (IPP) students will be performing alongside professional interpreters from Disney

For more information contact Jeremy Rogers at 951-639-5399 or jrogers@msjc.edu

 

Heart and Stroke Walk of Southwest Riverside County

May 6, 5:00 – 7:00 pm, Lake Skinner, Winchester

Volunteers Needed! Walkers needed! Bring Your Pets, too!

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Volunteers-needed-for-Heart-and-Stroke-Walk.aspx

It’s FREE to walk. Sign up and get your family and friends to sponsor you.

To volunteer, contact MSJC Outreach: Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu or Jose Rivera-Hernandez at 951-487-3315 or johernandez@msjc.edu

 

Rotaract Club Fundraiser

May 7, 8:00 – 10:00 am, Applebee’s, 27750 Newport Rd., Menifee 92586

Flapjack fundraiser to help Iraq Army Veterans attend a reunion

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Flapjack-Fundraiser-for-Iraq-Army-Veterans-Reunion.aspx

For more information contact Holly Fernandez at hfernandez@msjc.edu

 

Open Enrollment for Health Benefits

May 8, 8:00 am – 11:30 am, SJC Rm. 200

May 8, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805

Human Resources hosts annual open enrollment for employee benefits

OpenEnrollment2017-18.pdf  OpenEnrollmentChanges2017-18.pdf

For more information contact Lanell Covington-James at 951-487-3155 or ljames@msjc.edu

 

Human Trafficking Presentation

May 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Learn about various aspects of human trafficking and the complexities of being in the cycle of trafficking

HumanTraffickingSP17.pdf

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Peru Study Abroad Info Session

May 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 411

Learn about next years’ spring break trip to Peru to visit the Amazon rainforest and Machu Picchu

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/Peru2018.pdf

For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting

May 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200

http://www.msjc.edu/CollegeInformation/Administration/AcademicSenate/Pages/Schedule-of-Meetings.aspx

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Honors Convocation

May 9, 6:30 pm, SJC Library

GraduationDates2017.pdf

For more information contact Faith Nobles at 951-639-5201 or fnobles@msjc.edu

 

Town Hall Brown Bag Forum

May 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre

Bring your lunch and join members of Executive Cabinet for an open forum and Q&A on MSJC updates

For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3002 or kgrimes@msjc.edu

 

Student Art Show: Student = Artist

Ends May 11, M – Th 10:00 am – 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery

Artworks include drawing, painting, two and three-dimensional design, ceramics, sculpture, bronze casting, photography & digital illustration

http://www.msjc.edu/ArtGallery/Pages/artery.2016.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Deadline for SGA Applications

May 11

http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/StudentGovernmentAssociation/Pages/SGA-Apps.aspx

 

Employee Appreciation Day

May 12, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Softball Field

RSVP here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EmployeeAppreciationDay2017SaveTheDate.pdf

 

PTK Lei Sale for Graduation

May 12 Deadline for pre-orders

http://www.msjc.edu/Graduation/Pages/Graduation-Leis.aspx

 

Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex

Through May 12, Thursday’s 8:30 am – 5:00 pm, TEC

 

EOPS Program Applications

May 31 Deadline http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

June 1, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for Summer Sessions requisitions

June 1, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for Warehouse supply requisitions

June 30, 5:00 pm All 2016-17 purchases must be received to be charged to the 2016/17 budget

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Purchasing-Fiscal-Year-end-Cut-Off-Dates.aspx

 

Fire Alarm System Upgrade on SJC

Upgrade through July http://www.msjc.edu/MeasureAA/Pages/Current-Projects.aspx

 

Child Development and Education Centers Now Enrolling

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CDEC-FlierSP17.pdf

For more information call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605

 

2017-18 FAFSA Application Available

fafsa.ed.gov

 

Bellevue University Transfer Scholarships

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BellevueTransferScholarships.pdf

 

Business Services Travel Guide

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TravelGuideBusinessServices2017.pdf

For more information call Business Services at 951-487-3021

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider                                                                                                                                                                

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings on software and more!

Internet Service: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysCaliforniaConnectsInternetService.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysApril27-2017.pdf

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event

 

Get the MSJC App http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/msjcapp1.pdf

 

Update your MSJC-Alert contact information

In the event of an emergency, MSJC will send critical information to your personal phone number and email address. Make sure your contact information is up to date:

http://www.msjc.edu/alert

 

Help us get the word out about your Events: Submit the Marketing Services Request Form to promote your event via social media, press release, website calendar, marquee and the Weekly Round-Up. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs. Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat

 

Check out the New MSJC Events Calendar: calendar.msjc.edu

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, poster, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first: www.msjc.edu/Branding  Always include the MSJC logo and a contact name, college phone number and email address.

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf