Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 5-3-2016

Weekly Round-Up 5-3-2016

Save the Dates:

 

Open House to Celebrate the Sunset Off-Ramp/Grade Separation Project

May 13, 4:30 pm, San Gorgonio Pass Campus

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Documents/OverpassOpenHouseFlyerw.pdf

 

PTK Lei Sale for Graduation

Deadline extended to May 19: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Pre-order-Leis-for-Graduation.aspx

 

 

University Admissions Representative Visits

May 3, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Grand Canyon University

May 3, 11:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UCR STEM Bourns College of Engineering

May 3, 1:00 pm – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University

May 3, 1:00 pm – 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, National University

May 5, 9:30 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino

May 9, 9:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Poly Pomona

May 9, 10:00 am – 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside

May 10, 11:30 am – 2:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransfer2016UnivReps.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

Human Trafficking Presentation

May 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Library

Anne-Michelle Ellis, the original Coordinator for the San Bernardino County Coalition Against Sexual Exploitation

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HumanTraffickingSP16flyer.pdf

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Book of the Month Club

May 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453

God Help the Child, by Toni Morrison

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/BOMclubMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshops

May 4, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1255, Revision Techniques

May 10, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255, Blue Book Tips

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Active Minds Club Meeting

May 4, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 851

A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illness

For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu

 

High School Senior Day

May 5, 12:00 – 7:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1018A

Outreach hosts this open house event with campus tours and application, assessment, orientation, and counseling assistance

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HighSchoolSrDay2016flyer.pdf

For more information contact Beth Bowles, Outreach, at 951-639-5313 or bbowles@msjc.edu

 

Financial Aid Awareness Day

May 5, 12:00 – 7:00 pm, MVC Quad

Financial Aid presentations, information tables, tours and FAFSA assistance will be provided

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FinAidSP6FlyerMVC.pdf

For more information contact Fantaya Willingham at 951-487-3243 or fwillingham@msjc.edu

 

Talon Film Screening

May 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

“Spotlight,” an academy award winning film about investigative reporting in Boston

For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

May 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410, Understanding Commas

May 9, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 416, Panic Reduction

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP16.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Western Science Center Lecture Series

May 5, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre

California: Myth & Realities

Palimpsest: Disneyland and the Architecture of Fantasy in California

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/WSCLectureSeriesSP16.pdf

For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

Menifee Dance Theatre

May 5, 6, 7, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

May 8, 2:00 pm

Original work by faculty, student choreographers and guest artists

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Spring-Dance-Concert-on-Menifee-Valley-Campus.aspx

Contact the Theatre Box Office/Reservation Line at 951-639-5790 or Paula Naggi at pnaggi@msjc.edu

 

AB104 Steering Committee Meeting

May 6, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 805

Southwest Riverside County Regional Adult Education Consortium AB104 Steering Committee Meeting

For more information contact Deborah McKee at 951-639-5708 or dmckee@msjc.edu

 

Business Competition

May 6, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 950

Student entrepreneurs compete to win a $5000 grant to start their own business in this Shark Tank-style competition

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Business-Competition-2016.aspx

For more information contact Denis Nurmela at dnurmela@msjc.edu

 

Foundation Hosts: Jack Russell’s Great White Concert

May 7, 6:00 pm, Wiens Family Cellars, 35055 Via Del Ponte, Temecula 92592

http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Jack-Russells-Great-White.aspx

Get tickets for only $25: http://www.dealpalooza.com/Golden-Crown-Productions/Temecula/92592/deals/25-to-see-Jack-Russells-Great-White-Saturday-May-7th-at-Wiens-Family-Cellars-4995-Value/105098/1059

 

“Random Acts” Student Showcase

May 7, 7:30 pm, SJC Studio Theatre

Students present one-acts, monologues and musical numbers

Contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790

 

Job Skills Workshop

May 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 – Resume and Cover Letter

May 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 110 - Soft Skills

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsSP16.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Open Enrollment

May 10, 8:00 am – 11: 30 am, MVC Rm. 805

May 10, 2:00 pm – 5:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200

Employees can review new plans and make any changes to existing Health & Welfare

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-OpenEnrollmentFlyerAP16.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-REEPWellness2016Anthem-UHCflyer.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-REEPWellness2016KaiserRewardsFlyer.pdf

For more information contact Lanell Covington-James at 951-487-3155 or ljames@msjc.edu

 

London or Spain Study Abroad Information Session

May 10, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 106

Learn how to earn transferable credit while studying and traveling abroad

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/LondonSpainFA16flyer.pdf

For more information contact Shartelle Fears, at 951-639-5397 or sfears@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting                                                                                                                                                                 

May 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Amnesty International & Political Science Club Films & Events

May 10, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408

Reclaiming the Education Master Plan, featuring Amy Hines

http://www.msjc.edu/AmnestyInternational/Documents/AmnestyIntPoliSciSp16.pdf

For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu

 

Critical Thinking & Writing Workshop

May 10, 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CriticalThinkingAndWritingSkillsWorkshopsSP16MVC.pdf

For more information contact Carol Coffin at ccoffin@msjc.edu

 

Honors Convocation

May 10, 5:30 pm, SJC Library

Honors students awards ceremony

For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu

 

Scholarship Award Ceremony

May 11, 11:30 am, Wilson Creek Winery

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FoundationScholarshipAwardCeremony2016.pdf

 

Art Gallery Exhibition: OPEN-Have a Look

Ends May 12, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm M-Th, SJC Art Gallery

Apr. 19, 4:00 pm – 7:00 pm, Opening Reception

The Annual Student Art Exhibition

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Annual-Student-Art-Exhibition.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951-487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

May 31, Deadline for Open P.O. orders to be placed

Jun. 2, Summer Session requisitions & Warehouse Supply req’s

Jun. 30, Deadline to receive FY15-16 Purchases

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Fiscal-Year-End-Cut-Off-Dates-2016.aspx

 

Summer Classes!

Classes begin June 6th and June 20th

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Registration-Open-for-Summer-School-at-MSJC.aspx

 

Summer 2016 – District Operating Schedule

June 6 – August 7

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Summer-2016-District-Operating-Schedule.aspx

 

EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for Fall 2016 Semester

Apply through July 22nd: http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider                                                                                                                                                                

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.

Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:

The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:

www.msjc.edu/Branding

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf