Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 5-5-2015

Weekly Round-Up 5-5-2015

Vote MSJC as #1 College in Reader’s Choice Awards!
Under “Shopping & Services” category, scroll down to “Best College or School”
 
Be a Mentor: Interviews in May
Contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
American Appraisers Physical Inventory of District’s Capital Equipment
 
Notice About Corinthian Colleges Closure
 
 
MSJC/CBU Online Bachelor’s Degree Program Information Sessions
May 5, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Theatre
May 12, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Theatre
Learn about twenty-one Bachelor Degree Programs offered through MSJC and California Baptist University Online
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
May 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D
Last Days in Vietnam” sponsored by the Diversity Committee
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Film - EXPOSED: Police Militarization
May 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Join The Talon for this short film, open discussion and Starbucks coffee
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
May 5, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206 – Chicago-Style Citations
May 7, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – Panic Reduction
May 8, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 305 – Proofreading and Editing
Sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951- 487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
May 5, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 111 – Networking
May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951/SJC Rm. 111 – Steps to Transfer
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
May 5, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 503 – Commas
May 8, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 305 – Proofreading and Editing
May 12, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 102 – Grammar Brush Up
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu  or Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
May 5, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Annual Open Enrollment
May 6 – Jun. 4
Open enrollment period for all permanent district employees
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
National Nurses Week
May 6 – 12
National Nurses Week begins each year on May 6th and ends on May 12, the Birthday of Florence Nightingale, widely known founder of modern nursing
 
Student Services Committee Meeting
May 7, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
High School Senior Day
May 7, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1018A
May 14, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1120B
To help ease the transition from high school to college
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
Anthropology Club Film
May 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1206
The Modoc War
For more information contact Pam Ford at 951-487-3725 or pford@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
May 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
Bleeding Edge, Thomas Pynchon, (496 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
May 7, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Belen Farinas at 951-639-5264 or mafarinas@msjc.edu
 
6th Annual Student Recognition Ceremony
May 7, 6:00 pm, SJC Library
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series: Circus! Making the Spectacle
May 7, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
How Do They Do That?! The Role of the Skeleton and Muscles in Circus Performers
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Dance Theatre
May 7, 8, 9, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
May 10, 2:00 pm,           “      “          “
This  eclectic concert features dance styles ranging from hip hop to contemporary
For more information contact Paula Naggi at 951-639-5792 or pnaggi@msjc.edu
 
Spring Dance Concert
May 7, 8, 9, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
May 10, 2:30 pm,         “         “
MSJC Dances features original work by students, faculty and guest artist-musician, Ray McNamara
For more information contact Julie Freeman at 951-487-3630 or jfreeman@msjc.edu
 
CSULA Transfer Day Tour
May 8, 7:45 am, CSU Los Angeles
A tour to provide students with information on the transfer process, support services, academic programs and student life
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Fall 2015 Online Textbook Ordering
Deadline is May 8th
 
Edcamp Perris
May 9, 8:00 am, Heritage High School, 26001 Briggs Rd., Romoland, 92585
 
MSJC/CSUSM Business Degree Program Information Session
May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Learn about earning your AA and BSBA in Business Administration within four years
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Site Council Meeting
May 12, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
May 12, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1215
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and to stop the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Concert Band Spring Concert
May 12, 7:30 pm, SJC Theatre
The MSJC Trombone Choir will join the Concert Band
Call the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Employee Appreciation Day
May 15, 8:30 am, MVC Ball Field
 
Employee Recognition Day
May 21, 2:00 pm, SJC Library
 
Graduation Information
May 29, 6:00 pm, Ramona Bowl Amphitheatre
 
Air Conditioning Control System Upgrades
Through end of May, SJC
 
Foundation Raise the Bar Campaign
May – Aug. 14 Choose a donation plan to show your support for students and programs
 
Summer District Operating Schedule
June 1 – Aug. 7
 
Summer Classes Begin
June 8 & June 22
Summer Schedule Online Now
 
Emergency Phone Numbers
 
District Letterhead
Submit a supply requisition to the Warehouse SJC or Central Distribution MVC to order. Letterhead is $38.00 per ream or $9.50/quarter ream (125 sheets). 
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link.
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone