Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 5-9-2017

Weekly Round-Up 5-9-2017

University Representatives

May 9, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 National University

May 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Baptist University

May 11, 9:30 am, MVC Rm. 103 CSU San Bernardino

May 16, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 103 Grand Canyon University

May 16, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103 Cal Poly Pomona

Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information

CareerTransferUniversityRepsSP17.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu

 

SGA Institutional Effectiveness Meetings

May 9, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

May 16, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

Creative Writing Club

May 9, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 603

May 12, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 305

May 16, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 603

Work on your writing, improve your creativity, socialize, and get involved on campus

For more information contact Susan Winslow at 951-639-5640 or swinslow@msjc.edu or Brenee Wright at 951-487-3648 or bwright@msjc.edu

 

“Positive Changes” Workshop

May 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1420

Student workshops on seeking safety, stability and strength through making positive changes

PositiveChangeWorkshopsFlier.pdf

For more information contact Claudia Gutierrez at 951-487-3253 or cgutierrez@msjc.edu

 

Human Trafficking Presentation

May 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927

Learn about various aspects of human trafficking and the complexities of being in the cycle of trafficking

HumanTraffickingSP17.pdf

For more information contact Vera Stamenkovic at vstamenkovic@msjc.edu

 

Site Council Meeting

May 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200

http://www.msjc.edu/CollegeInformation/Administration/AcademicSenate/Pages/Schedule-of-Meetings.aspx

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

Honors Convocation

May 9, 5:30 pm, SJC Library

GraduationDates2017.pdf

For more information contact Maya Cardenas at 951-639-5566 or mcardenas@msjc.edu

 

Concert Band Rehearsal

May 9, 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1602

The MSJC Concert Band rehearsals are every Tuesday night at 7

For more information contact John Tribelhorn at 951-487-3641 or jtribelhorn@msjc.edu

 

Career/Transfer Center

May 10, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C STEM Coffee Forum

May 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255 Internship Workshop

May 12, 7:00 am, Departing from MVC & SJC UC Irvine Tour

May 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974 Internship Workshop

Please RSVP for workshops 

CareerTransferWorkshopsFlierSP17.pdf

For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Aimee Bravo at 951-487-3285 or abravo@msjc.edu

 

Rotaract Club

May 10, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 1008

Help build goodwill by serving the community through causes for the military, health, education and economy

For more information contact Holly Fernandez at hfernandez@msjc.edu

 

Writing Workshops

May 10, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Revising Drafts

May 12, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 158 Proofreading

Writing Workshops help students gain confidence in their writing abilities

WritingWorkshopsSP17MVC.pdf           WritingWorkshopsSJC-SP17.pdf

For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu

 

Scholars’ Workshops

May 10, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 Revising Drafts

May 12, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 158 Proofreading

Workshops are open to all students, sponsored by the Honors Enrichment Program

ScholarsWorkshopsSJC-SP17.pdf                  ScholarsWorkshopsMVC-SP17.pdf

For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu

 

SGA College Activities Meeting

May 11, 8:30 am, SJC Rm. 1114/MVC Rm. 1007

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

I Can Afford College

May 11, 12:00 pm – 5:00 pm, SJC Quad

FAFSA and DREAM presentations and assistance available

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/FinancialAid.pdf

For more information contact Fantaya Willingham at 951-487-3243 or fwillingham@msjc.edu

 

High School Senior Day

May 11, 12:00 pm – 7:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1120B

Open House includes campus tours, enrollment and financial aid services, assessment exam and more

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/MSJC-Hosts-High-School-Senior-Days.aspx

For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5313 or bbowles@msjc.edu

 

Town Hall Brown Bag Forum

May 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Theatre

Bring your lunch and join members of Executive Cabinet for an open forum and Q&A on MSJC updates

For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3002 or kgrimes@msjc.edu

 

Students for Environmental Action and Leadership (SEAL)

May 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 1010

For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu

 

CTE Internship Workshops

May 11, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255/MVC Rm. 974

Learn how to get credit for an internship

CTE-CareerWorkshops.pdf

For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5567 or mleyden@msjc.edu

 

Psychology Club

May 11, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 600

PsychClubMtgsSP17.pdf

For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu

 

Student Art Show: Student = Artist

Ends May 11, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery

Artworks include drawing, painting, two and three-dimensional design, ceramics, sculpture, bronze casting, photography & digital illustration

http://www.msjc.edu/ArtGallery/Pages/artery.2016.aspx

For more information contact John Knuth at 951487-3585 or jknuth@msjc.edu

 

Deadline for SGA Applications

May 11

http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/StudentGovernmentAssociation/Pages/SGA-Apps.aspx

 

Menifee Jazz Ensemble

May 11, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

A high-energy blend of contemporary and big band sounds

ConcertsSP17MVC.pdf

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Employee Appreciation Day

May 12, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Softball Field

RSVP here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EmployeeAppreciationDay2017SaveTheDate.pdf

 

SGA Legislative Meeting

May 12, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851

For more information contact Casey Ysaguirre at 951-487-3332, 951-639-5331 or cysaguirre@msjc.edu

 

PTK Lei Sale for Graduation

May 12 Deadline for pre-orders

http://www.msjc.edu/Graduation/Pages/Graduation-Leis.aspx

 

Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex

Through May 12, Thursday’s 8:30 am – 5:00 pm, TEC

 

College Singers and Chamber Choir

May 13, 7:00 pm, SJC Theatre

A spring concert filled with choral favorites from a multitude of eclectic genres and composers

For more information contact Emily Collins at ecollins@msjc.edu

 

Menifee Campus Singers

May 13, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

The Road Home: Songs for the Journey” featuring American folk songs, art songs, and a splash of Jazz, Pop, and Broadway

ConcertsSP17MVC.pdf

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Guitar Ensemble & Music Student Showcase

May 14, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre

Showcasing guitar students’ keen musicianship and the talented students from music performance classes

ConcertsSP17MVC.pdf

For more information contact Eric Rea at 951-639-5665 or erea@msjc.edu

 

Honors Orientations

May 15, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200

May 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407

Learn about the Honors Enrichment Program

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HonorsOrientations2016-17.pdf

For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu

 

Photography Exhibition

May 16, 17, 18, 23, 24, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923

May 18, 5:00 pm – 8:00 pm, Opening Reception

An exhibition of advanced student and professional production class photography work

PhotographyExhibitSP17.pdf

For more information contact Melissa Welch at 951-639-5684 or mwelch@msjc.edu

 

EVDO - Veterans Club

May 16, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 911/SJC Rm. 1111

Eagles Veterans and Dependent Organization invites all who wish to support veterans on campus and in the community

For more information contact Mary Lou Dillard at 951-487-3248 or mdillard@msjc.edu

 

Peru Study Abroad Info Session

May 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 411

Learn about next years’ spring break trip to Peru to visit the Amazon rainforest and Machu Picchu

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/Peru2018.pdf

For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu

 

Executive Senate Meeting

May 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200

http://www.msjc.edu/CollegeInformation/Administration/AcademicSenate/Pages/Schedule-of-Meetings.aspx

For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu

 

CSUSM-MSJC Business Degree Program Info Session

May 16, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 416

Earn an associate degree from MSJC in 2 years and a bachelor’s in Business from CSUSM in another 2 years

For more information contact Karie White at 951-487-3409 or kwhite@msjc.edu

 

Concert Band

May 16, 7:00 pm, SJC Theatre

Spring concert featuring a special arrangement of “Casey at the Bat” with narration by Payden Ackerman

For more information contact John Tribelhorn at 951-487-3641 or jtribelhorn@msjc.edu

 

Graduation

May 26, 5:30 pm, Ramona Bowl Amphitheatre

GraduationDates2017.pdf, CommencementInfoFulltimeFaculty2017.pdf

 

EOPS Program Applications

May 31 Deadline http://www.msjc.edu/StudentServices/EOPS/Pages/Apply.aspx

 

Purchasing Cut-Off Dates

June 1, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for Summer Sessions requisitions

June 1, 5:00 pm Cut-off date for Warehouse supply requisitions

June 30, 5:00 pm All 2016-17 purchases must be received to be charged to the 2016/17 budget

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Pages/Purchasing-Fiscal-Year-end-Cut-Off-Dates.aspx

 

American Fidelity – Section 125 Plans - Open Enrollment

Through June 12 http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-Section125PlansAppointmentFlier.pdf

 

Fire Alarm System Upgrade on SJC

Upgrade through July http://www.msjc.edu/MeasureAA/Pages/Fire-Alarm-System-Upgrades-San-Jacinto-Campus.aspx

 

SJC Football/Soccer Field and Track Closed for Renovations

Through August http://www.msjc.edu/MeasureAA/Pages/Athletic-Fields-SJC.aspx

 

TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits Provider                                                                                                                                                                

Exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!

Sign Up: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SignUpTAW-MTSJCO.pdf

May Bulletin: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/HR-Tickets@WorkMay2017.pdf

 

College Buys

Exclusive savings on software and more!

Internet Service: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysCaliforniaConnectsInternetService.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysMay2-2017.pdf

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CollegeBuysMay5-2017.pdf

 

Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event?

Call 951-487-3305 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event

 

Get the MSJC App http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/msjcapp1.pdf

https://youtu.be/CXADGGSsmEw

 

Update your MSJC-Alert contact information

In the event of an emergency, MSJC will send critical information to your personal phone number and email address. Make sure your contact information is up to date:

http://www.msjc.edu/alert

 

Help us get the word out about your Events: Submit the Marketing Services Request Form to promote your event via social media, press release, website calendar, marquee and the Weekly Round-Up. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf

 

MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks

Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs. Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.

 

Join Us: Social Networking Works!

Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and Snapchat

 

Check out the New MSJC Events Calendar: calendar.msjc.edu

 

E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey

The results of MSJC’s Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.

Find the Top Five Ways to Communicate Here: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/TopFiveAdvertisingStrategies.pdf

Check out the entire results at: www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MSJC-Presentation-Communications.pdf

 

MSJC Logos

Official MSJC logo options, including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo

 

MSJC Branding Guidelines

If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, poster, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first: www.msjc.edu/Branding  Always include the MSJC logo and a contact name, college phone number and email address.

 

Using District Email to reach Everyone

http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/EvEmails.pdf