Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-15-2015

Weekly Round-Up 9-15-2015

Logo Update: Per Strategic Goal #6 – The MSJC logo has been updated with the names of each MSJC campus/location
The official MSJC logo has several options for you to choose from. In addition to the basic college logo, you can select a logo that includes the name of your specific campus. You can also choose from a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
CSEA Newsletter
 
 
Math Workshops
Sep. 15, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Decimals
Sep. 22, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Percentages
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Sep. 15, 10:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC Riverside
Sep. 16, 11:00 am – 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Sep. 22, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information                                         
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Constitution Day Barbeques
Sep. 15, 12:00 pm, MVC Outside 1007
Sep. 17, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Join SGA and Campus Catering for fun, music and food!
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3331 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Brown Bag – College Update
Sep. 15, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 200
Sep. 22, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Bring your lunch and join Dr. Schultz and Executive Cabinet for an update on the budget, campus security, bond projects and more!
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Sep. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
These Streets are Watching
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Sep. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Babette’s Feast, 1987, French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951- 639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Job Skills Development Workshop
Sep. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969 – Interview
Students learn about Job Search, Eagle Career Connection, Resume/Cover Letter Building, Interview Preparation, and Professional Communication
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Sep. 15, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – The Writing Process
Sep. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Selecting a Research Topic
Sep. 16, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – MLA & APA Style
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1211 – Quotes, Paraphrases, Summary
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – How Not to Plagiarize
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Sep. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 969/SJC Rm. 112 – Interview/Soft Skills
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC  Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – IVY League
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – Transfer Admissions Guarantee
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Sep. 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – Selecting a Research Topic
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – Applying to Ivy League Schools
Sep. 16, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Becoming an SI Leader and Giving Back as a Tutor
Sep. 16, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 – Using MLA and APA
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112 – TAG and TAP
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – How Not to Plagiarize
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Student Trustee Elections
Sep. 15 Deadline for Election Packets, MVC Rm. 1007/SJC Rm. 1114
To run your campaign for Student Trustee, academic year 2015-16, election packets are available on both campuses
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Sep. 16, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – Study Skills for your Busy Schedules
Sep. 17, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – How to be a Successful Student in Class
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
STEM Orientations
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412/SJC Rm. 1212
Open to all students interested in STEM
For more information contact Leticia Luna Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Belize Study Tour Information Meeting
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
Travel to Belize with the environmental studies department over spring break, 2016
For more information contact Jason Hlebakos at 951-639-5731 or jhlebakos@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Sep. 17, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
ART: Why I Stuck with a Junkie Jazzman, by Laurie Pepper
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Photography Department Hosts Guest Speaker
Sep. 17, 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Local professional photographer, Leah Marie will share her wedding photography
For more information contact Keith Hanz at 951-639-5546 or khanz@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Orientations
Sep. 21, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 487
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Academic Executive Senate Meeting
Sep. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day Softball Tournament
Oct. 9, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Ball Field
Watch your e-mail for team and event information!
 
MSJC Foundation’s “Autumn Nights”
Oct. 9, 6:00 pm, MVC
BBQ, Microbrews, Music! Learn more and buy tickets online: http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Autumn-Nights-Brewfest-2015.aspx
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex
Fall 2015 Semester, Thursdays, 8:00 am – 5:30 pm, TEC Room 116
For more information contact Shanae Williams at 951-639-5240 or swilliams@msjc.edu.
 
Bellevue University Offers Grants to MSJC Employees
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
Human Resources has teamed up with TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits provider
Offering exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Seven-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers’ Choice Awards!
 
Foundation Eagle Hopper
Payroll Deductions offered to employees
 
New Language Required on All Event announcements
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.”
Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
What’s Up? Weekly Round Up has the scoop
Keep current on MSJC events by reading the Weekly Round Up (WRU) delivered via email each Tuesday morning. The WRU provides a listing of all events from that Tuesday to the following Tuesday. Submit your event to us at least a week in advance of an event by filling out this form:
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone