Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-2-2014

Weekly Round-Up 9-2-2014

MSJC Academy Raffle Prize Drawing Winners!
See if you won one of the fabulous prizes sponsored by Altura Credit Union
For more information contact Aurianna Sterling at 951-639-5448 or asterling@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Sep. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – TAG, Discover what the requirements for Transfer Admission Guarantee to the UC system are
Sep. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951- TAG
Sep. 3, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Personal Statement, Receive guidance from a counselor in completing your UC personal statement
Sep. 3, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – UC Personal Statement
Sep. 4, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development, Identify your interests and what careers are related to them
Sep. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951– Career Development
Sep. 8, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1217 – Steps to Transfer, Explore the transfer process, choose a university, understand general ed requirements
Sep. 8, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 – Steps to Transfer
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application, Receive tips and tools for completion of UC applications
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – UC Application
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Orientations
Sep. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
Sep. 3, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213
Sep. 3, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
An informational gathering for students to learn more about the considerable advantages and opportunities about the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
RSVP by Sep. 3rd - Applebee’s Menifee Pre-Opening
Sep. 6, 11:00 am – 1:30 pm, and 4:30 pm – 7:30 pm, Applebee’s Restaurant, 27750 Newport Road, Menifee
$5 cash donations per person at the door to assist student’s through MSJC scholarships
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or borlauski@msjc.edu
 
Student Equity Committee Meeting
Sep. 3, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Committee Meeting
Sep. 4, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Club Meeting
Sep. 4, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Sep. 4, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Research Topics
Sep. 8, 2:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 – Writing in 3rd Person
Sep. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Thesis Statements
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Sep. 4, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Selecting a Research Topic
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250 D – Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Sep. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Presenting at the Honors Conference
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Meeting
Sep. 4, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 1111
For more information contact Belen Farinas at 951-639-5264 or mafarinas@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery a.r.t.e.r.y. Exhibit, Public Reception
Sep. 4, 4:00 pm, SJC Art Gallery
Exhibit runs through Oct. 9, M-Th, 10:00 am – 4 pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Sep. 4, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Journeys, Expeditions, and Voyages: Intellectual Growth & Cultural Change Through Travel
Journey to the Origin of an Idea: Alfred Wallace the Forgotten Discoverer of Natural Selection
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Applebee’s Menifee Pre-Opening
Sep. 6, 11:00 am – 1:30 pm, and 4:30 pm – 7:30 pm, Applebee’s Restaurant, 27750 Newport Road, Menifee
$5 cash donations per person at the door to assist student’s through MSJC scholarships
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or borlauski@msjc.edu
 
Last Day to Drop a Full-Term Class without a “W” grade
Sep. 7th          
Dates vary for short-term classes; please refer to Enrollment Services
For more information contact Enrollment Services at  enrollsvcs@msjc.edu
 
CSU San Marcos Representative Visit
Sep. 9, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1150
Find out what you need to successfully transfer to CSU San Marcos
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
Save the Date!
9/11 Commemoration
Sep. 11, 8:30 am, SGPC San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Event includes VFW Post 233, Virtual Tour of 9/11 Memorial in New York, Banning’s Fire Memories Museum items and posters to sign
For more information contact Bertha Barraza at 951-922-1327 or bbarraza@msjc.edu
 
Save the Date!
Foundation Scholarship Motorcycle Run
Sep. 27, 8:00 am, SJC to Temecula Higher Education Center
For more information contact Fred Frontino at 951-487-3301 or ffrontino@msjc.edu
 
Scholarship Applications Now Online
Apply by October 3, 2014
 
Nursing and Allied Health Unit Accreditation Self-Study and Site Visits
For more information contact Kathleen Winston at 951-639-5560 or kwinston@msjc.edu
 
Discounted Chargers vs. Rams Tickets for Students and Staff
Passcode: Eagle
E-mail domain: @msjc.edu
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3276 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Temecula Higher Education Center/THE Center
43200 Business Park Dr. Temecula, 92590
Open Monday – Thursday, 8:00 am – 1:00 pm, for classes only.
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone