Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-22-2015

Weekly Round-Up 9-22-2015

Fall Scholarships Now Posted on Website
Oct. 16 Deadline: www.msjc.edu/scholarships
 
 
Facilities Surveyors Begin Work on Campuses
Sep. 22, SJC & MVC
For more information contact Scott Kasper at 951-487-3107 or skasper@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Sep. 22, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Percentages
Sep. 29, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Practice Assessment Test
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Brown Bag – College Update
Sep. 22, 12:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Bring your lunch and join Dr. Schultz and Executive Cabinet for an update on the budget, campus security, bond projects and more!
For more information contact Kristen Grimes at 951-487-3003 or kgrimes@msjc.edu
 
Academic Executive Senate Meeting
Sep. 22, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Kristi DiMemmo at 951-487-3409 or kdimemmo@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Orientations
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 487
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – How Not to Plagiarize
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Sep. 24, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 305 – Advanced Library Research
Sep. 24, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Transferring to a Four-Year Institution
Sep. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112 – Writing a Personal Statement for Transfer Applications
Sep. 29, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Giving Back as a Tutor/Becoming an SI Leader
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Sep. 22, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 410 – How Not to Plagiarize
Sep. 23, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1206 – Introductions and Conclusions
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Sep. 22, 4:00 pm – 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Sep. 23, 10:30 am – 1:30 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Bellevue University
Sep. 24, 2:00 pm – 4:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, UC San Diego
Sep. 28, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, SJC Bldg. 1150, CSU San Bernardino
Sep. 29, 9:00 am – 4 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino
Sep. 29, 12:00 pm – 2 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Sep. 23, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – How to be a Successful Student in Class
Sep. 24, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – How are you Handling Life Stresses?
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Sep. 23, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Sep. 23, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Application
Sep. 24, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – Transfer Admissions Guarantee
Sep. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC  Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Personal Statement
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
Blackboard Maintenance
Sep. 24, 10:00 pm – 4:00 am on Sep. 25
For more information contact Micah Orloff at 951-639-5440 or morloff@msjc.edu
 
UC Irvine Tour
Sep. 25, 7:45 am, Departing from MVC & SJC
Hosted by the Career/Transfer Center: University CA Irvine free tour, bring your lunch or money to buy food http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/CareerTransferWorkshopsFA15.pdf
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
College Fair 2015
Sep. 26, 10:00 am – 2:00 pm, Promenade Mall, Temecula
Learn about next level education options from over 200 Colleges, Universities and Technical Programs, hosted by the City of Temecula Department of Economic Development
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
Sep. 28, 11:00 am, MVC Rm. 488
Are You Crazy?! In recognition of Mental Illness Awareness Week: Oct. 5 - 11
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Sep. 28, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Sep. 28, 3:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
Tortilla Soup, 2001, Spanish
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951- 639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International & Political Science Clubs Event
Sep. 28, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Bassem Tamimi’s U.S. Speaking Tour (Sep. 7-Oct. 7)
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu or Bob Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Sep. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1254
Contested Space: Medieval Tournaments, Chivalric Knighthood, and Historical Re-creation
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day Softball Tournament
Oct. 9, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Softball Field
Participate or cheer on your favorite team and players, enjoy the BBQ lunch with co-workers
For more information contact Debbie Perez-Flores at 951-487-3156 or dflores@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Foundation’s “Autumn Nights”
Oct. 9, 6:00 pm, MVC
BBQ, Microbrews, Music! Learn more and buy tickets online: http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Autumn-Nights-Brewfest-2015.aspx
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex
Fall 2015 Semester, Thursdays, 8:00 am – 5:30 pm, TEC Room 116
For more information contact Shanae Williams at 951-639-5240 or swilliams@msjc.edu.
 
Bellevue University Offers Grants to MSJC Employees
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
Human Resources has teamed up with TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits provider
Offering exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Seven-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers’ Choice Awards!
 
Foundation Eagle Hopper
Payroll Deductions offered to employees
 
New Language Required on All Event announcements
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.”
Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
What’s Up? Weekly Round Up has the scoop
Keep current on MSJC events by reading the Weekly Round Up (WRU) delivered via email each Tuesday morning. The WRU provides a listing of all events from that Tuesday to the following Tuesday. Submit your event to us at least a week in advance of an event by filling out this form:
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logo’s
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone