Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-29-2015

Weekly Round-Up 9-29-2015

Enroll now for Free State Preschool, ages 3.5 – 4 year olds
The MSJC Child Development & Education Centers are accepting applications for income qualified families
Call MVC 951-639-5605 or SJC 951-487-3605
 
Save the Dates:
Oct. 16 – 25, The Importance of being Earnest, SJC Theatre
 
Oct. 27, 10:00 am, MVC, Wallace Edgerton Memorial Bus Stop Dedication
 
 
University Admissions Representative Visits
Sep. 29, 9:00 am – 4 pm, MVC Rm. 103, CSU San Bernardino
Sep. 29, 12:00 pm – 2 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Brandman University
Oct. 1, 2:00 pm – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 103, Cal Baptist University
Come meet with an admissions representative and obtain up-to-date transfer information    
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshops
Sep. 29, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Practice Assessment Test
Oct. 6, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Operations on Fractions, Multiplication & Division
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487- 3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
History Lecture Series
Sep. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1614
Contested Space: Medieval Tournaments, Chivalric Knighthood, and Historical Re-creation
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Scholars’ Workshops
Sep. 29, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112 – Writing a Personal Statement for Transfer Applications
Sep. 29, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Giving Back as a Tutor/Becoming an SI Leader
Sep. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106 – TAG/TAP
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250C – Student Leadership
Oct. 1, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 – Advanced Library Research
Oct. 2, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Essay Exam Writing
Oct. 5, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Memory and Concentration
Oct. 6, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250 C – Applying for the All-USA and Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships                               
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Center Workshops
Sep. 29, 12:30 pm, MVC  Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – UC Personal Statement
Sep. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106/SJC Rm. 112 – Transfer Admission Guarantee
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
Oct. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974/SJC Rm. 112 – CSU Application
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu or Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu
 
iResources Workshops
Sep. 30, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 106 – How are you Handling Life Stresses?
Oct. 1, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – How to build a Portfolio
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Sep. 30, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
SWANS Donation Drive
Oct. 1 – 31, Donation Bins: MVC Bldg. 500/SJC SGA Office
Please help by donating to the Mary S. Roberts Pet Adoption Center
For more information contact Janyt Camper at 951-639-5558 or jcamper@msjc.edu
 
Safe Zone Training Workshops
Oct. 1, 9:00 am, SJC Rm. 200
Oct. 1, 4:00 pm, SJC Rm. 155
Oct. 2, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 408
Oct. 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Interactive training workshops designed to increase knowledge of the LGBTQ community
For more information contact Leticia Luna-Sims at 951-639-5293 or lsims@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Workshop
Oct. 1, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Leadership/Getting Involved on Campus
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3753 or acuatok@msjcj.edu
 
Spain Study Abroad Information Session
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
Earn transferable credit while studying and traveling abroad
For more information contact Shartelle Fears at 951-639-5397 or sfears@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Book Club
Oct. 1, 5:30 pm, WSC Theatre
DNA USA by Brian Sykes
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu or Pam Ford at 951-487-3725 or pford@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Oct. 1, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Who Am I? The Scientific & Cultural Context of Identity
Putting Together the Pieces of Identity
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Oct. 2, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1250C – Essay Exam Writing
For more information contact Ted Blake at 951-639-5487 or tblake@msjc.edu or Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Creative Writing Club Meeting
Oct. 2, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1212
A club that helps students with advice and support on personal creative writing projects
For more information contact Lisa Mellado at lmellado@msjc.edu
 
YESplace Entrepreneurship Seminar
Oct. 3, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 927
A one-day crash course in setting up a business
Registration: www.YESplace.org/MSJC
For more information contact Denis Nurmela at dnurmela@msjc.edu
 
Student Trustee Election
Oct. 5 & 6, 8:00 am – Noon, 1:00 – 5:00 pm, SJC Quad
Oct. 7 & 8, 8:00 am – Noon, 1:00 – 5:00 pm, MVC Quad
Paper ballots available, show your student ID to cast your ballot
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3380 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
ASTAR Workshop
Oct. 5, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 511
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Active Minds Club Meeting
Oct. 5, 11:00 am, SJC Rm. 1421/MVC Rm. 1007
A club geared towards raising awareness of mental health issues and putting a stop to the stigma of mental illnesses
For more information contact Lyndsey Tone at 951-487-3282 or ltone@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Oct. 6, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Christine Abriam at 951-487-3403 or cabriam@msjc.edu
 
Employee Appreciation Day Softball Tournament
Oct. 9, 8:30 am – Noon, MVC Softball Field
Participate or cheer on your favorite team and players, enjoy the BBQ lunch with co-workers
For more information contact Debbie Perez-Flores at 951-487-3156 or dflores@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Foundation’s “Autumn Nights”
Oct. 9, 6:00 pm, MVC
BBQ, Microbrews, Music! Learn more and buy tickets online: http://www.msjc.edu/FoundationandGiving/Pages/Autumn-Nights-Brewfest-2015.aspx
For more information contact Rebecca Orlauski at 951-487-3171 or rorlauski@msjc.edu
 
Fall Scholarships
Oct. 16 Deadline: www.msjc.edu/scholarships
For more information contact Lesia Navarro at 951-487-3170 or lnavarro@msjc.edu
 
Financial Aid Services at Temecula Education Complex
Fall 2015 Semester, Thursdays, 8:00 am – 5:30 pm, TEC Room 116
For more information contact Shanae Williams at 951-639-5240 or swilliams@msjc.edu.
 
Occupational Internships Available to Students
 
Human Resources has teamed up with TicketsatWork, a Corporate Entertainment Benefits provider
Offering exclusive discounts to theme parks, shows, sporting events, movie tickets, hotels and more!
For more information contact Jeannine Stokes at 951-487-3151 or jstokes@msjc.edu
 
Facilities Surveyors Working on Campuses
SJC & MVC
For more information contact Scott Kasper at 951-487-3107 or skasper@msjc.edu
 
Avoid a Street Sweeping Ticket at San Jacinto Campus
2nd & 4th Wednesday of each month, 8 a.m. and 4 p.m., SJC Community College Drive
The city of San Jacinto started routine street sweeping. Do not park on Community College Drive or the city will issue a citation if your vehicle is parked there. http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/StreetSweepingSJC.pdf
 
MSJC Seven-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers’ Choice Awards!
 
Foundation Eagle Hopper
Payroll Deductions offered to employees
 
New Language Required on All Event announcements
In order to ensure access to all of our students, visitors, employees and other guests, please provide the following language on all event announcements: “Need a disability-related accommodation to attend an event? Call 951-487-3302 or email ada@msjc.edu at least five days prior to the event.”
Please be sure to include this verbiage at the bottom of every poster, email or other form of notification that you are asked to create for an event. This is already posted on the online Events Calendar.
 
What’s Up? Weekly Round Up has the scoop
Keep current on MSJC events by reading the Weekly Round Up (WRU) delivered via email each Tuesday morning. The WRU provides a listing of all events from that Tuesday to the following Tuesday. Submit your event to us at least a week in advance of an event by filling out this form:
 
MSJC Successes and News: Find out in MSJCLinks
Read the monthly MSJCLinks to find out about faculty, staff and student successes, list of new employees or employee changes, Board of Trustee actions, Athletic News and more. We welcome your submissions about your successes. Did you publish a book or article? Earn a degree? Selected to a Fellowship? Do you know of a student with a great success story? Please contact MSJCPublicInfo@msjc.edu and tell us about it. Add a photo, too. We are a work family and want to share each other’s triumphs.
Also be sure to visit www.msjc.edu/news or just look on the front page of our web site to find out the latest news about MSJC.
 
Join Us: Social Networking Works!
Be sure to join us on Facebook, Twitter and the new MSJC Instagram
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the Marketing Services Request form at this link: http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/MarketingServicesRequestForm.pdf
 
MSJC Logo’s
Official MSJC logo options. including specific campus logos in a variety of formats, from jpg to Word Doc and more: http://www.msjc.edu/Logo
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone