Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-30-2014

Weekly Round-Up 9-30-2014

Sunset Jazz & Wine Fest
October 10th, 6:00 – 10:00 pm, MVC
Save the Date!
 
MSJC’s 2014 Educational Summit
Register by Sep. 30th
Strengthening K-12 & Higher Education Alignment
 
Career/Transfer and Career & Technical Education Workshops
Sep. 30, 9:30 am, MVC Rm. 974
Job Skills Development: Job Search, Resume/Cover Letter, Interview Preparation, Professional Communication
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/JobSkillsWorkshopsFA14.pdf
For more information contact Matt Leyden at 951-639-5437 or mleyden@msjc.edu
 
STEM Engineering Workshop
Sep. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 974
Arduino Microcontrollers: Explore the hidden world of embedded systems
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Sep. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development
Sep. 30, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951–        “              “
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – CSU Application
Oct. 1, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 973 –    “           “          
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 –   “          “          
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Personal Statement
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 -    “         “             “                           
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3285 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Sep. 30, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm.1250D – Student Leadership
Oct. 2, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 –            “           “
Oct. 3, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1206 – Essay Exam Writing
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshops
Sep. 30, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 601 – Annotated Bibliographies
Oct. 3, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1206 -  Essay Exam Writing
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
EOPS/CARE Accepting Applications for SP15
Oct. 1-17
Targeting students who qualify for the BOGW A or B
For more information contact Martha Crawford at 951-487-3290 or mcrawford@msjc.edu
 
STEM Skills Workshop
Oct. 1, 4:15 pm, SJC Rm. 107B
Chemistry Hacks: Tricks and strategies to learning chemistry
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Film
Oct. 1, 4:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Trade
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Student Services Committee Meeting
Oct. 2, 10:00 am, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5202 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Oct. 2, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
ASTAR Workshops
Oct. 2, 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 814 – Math
Oct. 3, 8:00 am, MVC Rm. 974
Oct. 6, 9:00 am, MVC Rm. 814
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
Western Science Center Lecture Series
Oct. 2, 7:00 pm, WSC Theatre
Journeys, Expeditions, and Voyages: Intellectual Growth & Cultural Change Through Travel
Bridging Worlds: The Iwakura Mission and Recasting Japan’s Position on the Global Stage
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Classified Senate Fundraiser
Deadline: Oct. 3rd
Raffle: Oct. 6, for a themed basket that includes two tickets to the 2014 Sunset Jazz and Wine Festival on October 10th at 6:00 pm, on the Menifee Valley Campus!
For more information contact Elizabeth Worthington at 951-487-3024 or eworthington@msjc.edu or Dawn Bridge at 951-639-5351 or dbridge@msjc.edu
 
CurricUNET Training
Oct. 3, 8:00 am – 10:00 am, SJC
For face-to-face CurricuNET training, RSVP to the curriculum email at curriculum@msjc.edu
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
Scholarship Applications Now Online
October 3, 2014 deadline to apply!
How to Request a Letter of Recommendation from a Faculty Member at MSJC
 
Chiller Replacement Project
Oct. 3 work begins, SJC 100 Building
The District has been allocated Energy Improvement Project funding, through Proposition 39
 
International Food & Arts Festival
Oct. 4, 11:00 am – 4:00 pm, SJC Quad
Enjoy international food, dance, crafts, art, music, theatre, fashion show and more!
For more information contact Millie Baez at mbaez@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Judiciary Committee Election
Oct. 6, Deadline to cast your vote
Successful candidates will be announced Oct. 10 and officially take office Oct. 13
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
History and Humanities Film Festival
Oct. 6, 6:00 pm, MVC Rm. 407
“Conversations with Richard Linklater”  School of Rock (2003)
For more information contact Jim Davis at 951-639-5660 or jdavis@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Orientations
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418/SJC Rm. 158
Open to all students interested in STEM
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/STEMcalendarFA14.pdf
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Order of Operations
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
World Cinema
Oct. 7, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 407
The Closet (2011) French
For more information contact Lissette Castro at 951-639-5655 or lcastro@msjc.edu
 
Art Gallery a.r.t.e.r.y. Exhibit
Ends Oct. 9, SJC Art Gallery
“lost and found” exhibit runs through Oct. 9, M-Th, 10:00 am – 4 pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Students: Earn Extra Credit at the Art Gallery
Deadline for artwork: Oct. 16
Day of the Dead, create a memorial remembrance of a loved one
 
Continuing Education FOCUS
Now accepting class proposals for Spring 2015
For more information contact Lupe Jimenez at 951-487-3701 or ljimenez@msjc.edu
 
Ride the Bus, Win an iPAD
Ride RTA and be automatically entered into the iPad drawing!
 
Painting project on SJC 
Weekly updates will be provided of the locations being power washed and prepped for paint.
For more information contact Diane Morales at 951-487-3105 or dmorales@msjc.edu
 
Email Upgrade Scheduled
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone