Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-Up 9-9-2014

Weekly Round-Up 9-9-2014

MSJC Six-Time Winner of #1 Spot in Readers Choice Awards!
 
CSUSM Representative Visit
Sep. 9, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 1150
Find out what you need to successfully transfer to CSU San Marcos
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Chapter Meeting
Sep. 9, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 205/MVC Rm. 355B
For more information contact Ed Saucedo at 951-639-5186 or esaucedo@msjc.edu
 
Semester in Spain
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 106
The Counseling Department will deliver information on “Semester in Spain”
For more information contact Shartelle Fears at 951-639-5397 or sfears@msjc.edu
 
Academic Senate Site Council Meeting
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805/SJC Rm. 200
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
STEM Program Orientation
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 158
Open to all students interested in Science Technology Engineering and Math
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshops
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250 D – Finding and Applying for Scholarships
Sep. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Presenting at the Honors Conference
Sep. 10, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm.418 – Using MLA
Sep. 11, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1250D – Applying for the All-USA & Jack Kent Cooke Scholarships
Sep. 11, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Transferring to a 4-Year Institution
Sep. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Selecting a Research Topic & Writing a Research Paper
Sep. 16,  2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1250A – Becoming an SI Leader & Giving Back as a Tutor
For more information contact Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
 
Career/Transfer Workshops
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – UC Application, Receive tips and tools for completion of UC applications
Sep. 9, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951 – UC Application
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A – Career Development, Identify your interests and what careers are related to them
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951– Career Development
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu or Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
Sep. 9, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 487 – Thesis Statements
Sep. 10, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 418 – MLA Style
Sep. 16, 10:00 am, SJC Rm. 305 -  MLA & APA Overview
Sep. 16, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 408 – Selecting a Research Topic
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu
 
Flu Shot Clinic
Sep. 10, 9:30 am, SJC Rm. 200
Sep. 10, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 911
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Human Rights Film Series
Sep. 10, 2:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
Assaulted: Civil Rights Under Fire
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@smsjc.edu
 
9/11 Commemoration
Sep. 11, 8:30 am, SGPC San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Event includes VFW Post 233, Virtual Tour of 9/11 Memorial in New York, Banning’s Fire Memories Museum items and posters to sign
For more information contact Bertha Barraza at 951-922-1327 or bbarraza@msjc.edu
 
CSUSB Representative Visit
Sep. 11, 8:30 am, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to CSU San Bernardino
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Honors Enrichment Program Orientations
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
An informational gathering for students to learn more about the considerable advantages and opportunities about the Honors Enrichment Program
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu or Erik Ozolins at 951-639-5725 or eozolins@msjc.edu
or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
Amnesty International Club Meeting
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 415
For more information contact Shahla Razavi at 951-639-5753 or srazavi@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Department Hosts Congressional Candidate
Sep. 11, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 408
Bring your questions for Congressional Candidate Tim Sheridan
For more information contact Robert Melsh at rmelsh@msjc.edu
 
STEM Lecture Series
Sep. 11, 5:30 pm, MVC Rm. 805
The MAVEN Mission
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Book of the Month Club
Sep. 12, 11:30 am, MVC Rm. 453
The Lowland, Jhumpa Lahiri, (352 pages)
For more information contact Michelle Stewart at 951-639-5645 or mstewart@msjc.edu
 
UCR Representative Visit
Sep. 15, 9:00 am, SJC Bldg. 1150
Find out what you need in order to transfer successfully to UC Riverside
For more information contact Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
Student Life & Development Program
Sep. 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 412 – Leadership/Getting Involved on Campus
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Communications Club Hosts Motivational Recording Artist & Speaker
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Donna K. Faulkner presents her dynamic message “Be the Dream NOW, not later”
For more information contact E. David Moss at 951-639-5626 or emoss@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
Sep. 16, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 101 – Math Anxiety
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-487-3267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Political Science Department Hosts Board of Trustees Candidate
Sep. 16, 1:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Board of Trustees candidate, Virniecia Green-Jordan will discuss qualifications, experience, goals, and take questions
For more information contact Willie Hamilton at 951-487-3685 or whamilto@msjc.edu
 
Save the Date!
Foundation Scholarship Motorcycle Run
Sep. 27, 8:00 am, SJC to Temecula Higher Education Center
For more information contact Fred Frontino at 951-487-3301 or ffrontino@msjc.edu
 
Scholarship Applications Now Online
Apply by October 3, 2014
 
Art Gallery a.r.t.e.r.y. Exhibit
Through Oct. 9, SJC Art Gallery
“lost and found” exhibit runs through Oct. 9, M-Th, 10:00 am – 4 pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Human Resources Interim Executive Assistant to the Vice President & Associate Dean
Welcome, Debbie Perez-Flores!
 
Nursing and Allied Health Unit Accreditation Self-Study and Site Visits
For more information contact Kathleen Winston at 951-639-5560 or kwinston@msjc.edu
 
Discounted Chargers vs. Rams Tickets for Students and Staff
Passcode: Eagle
E-mail domain: @msjc.edu
For more information contact Sandi Uhrig at 951-487-3276 or suhrig@msjc.edu
 
Detour to San Gorgonio Pass Campus
Sunset Avenue is temporarily closed due to construction
 
Temecula Higher Education Center/THE Center
43200 Business Park Dr. Temecula, 92590
Open Monday – Thursday, 8:00 am – 1:00 pm, for classes only.
 
Staff, Faculty and Student Discounts from Dell
Microsoft software packages starting at $39.99!  http://www.msjc.edu/Purchasing/Pages/--Staff-Discounts.aspx
 
E-Mail? Text? Advertisements? Find the Results of the MSJC Communications Survey
The results of MSJC’s 2014 Communications Survey can help you get the message out to your communities in the most effective ways.
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this form:
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone