Skip Ribbon Commands Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Top Help (new window)
Sign In
MSJC > Public Information & Marketing Office > Weekly Round-up 5-13-14

Weekly Round-up 5-13-14

Foundation Offers Payroll Deduction Plans
Options for employees to purchase tickets to MSJC Special Events
 
Flight 2014
Annual anthology of students’ artwork and writing
 
Graduation 2014 Faculty Information
 
Photography Exhibition
May 13 – 15, 20 – 22, 27 - 29, 9:00 am – 3:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
Open House May 15th from 5:00 – 8:00 pm, MVC Rm. 923
For more information contact Melissa Ott at 951-639-5684 or mott@msjc.edu
 
CSEA Meeting
May 13, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1111/MVC Rm. 805
Bring your lunch. Everyone gets a raffle ticket for the end-of-the-year drawing!
For more information contact Kaye Melsheimer at 951-639-5523 or kmelsheimer@msjc.edu
 
Career Development Workshop
May 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951
May 14, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 112
May 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 951
May 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 107A
Assess your personality type, interests, values & skills and find out what careers are related to that
For more information contact Jessica Rodriguez at 951-639-5285 or jrodriguez@msjc.edu Betsy Ramos at 951-487-3285 or bramos@msjc.edu
 
STEM Movie Screening
May 13, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 927
Invisible Threat, documentary producer Lisa Posard and her student filmmakers will be available for Q & A after the movie
For more information contact Crystal Anthony at 951-639-5268 or cranthony@msjc.edu
 
Congressman Raul Ruiz
May 13, 1:00 pm, SJC Theatre
Honors Enrichment Program has arranged for Congressman Raul Ruiz, M.D. to return to MSJC and speak with students
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Writing Workshop
May 13, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417– Essay Exam Preparation
May 13, 1:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Proofreading and Editing
May 20, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 504 – Using APA and MLA
May 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 1212 – Grammar Brush Up
For more information contact Andrea Hammock at 951-487-3755 or ahammock@msjc.edu or Lorrie Ross at 951-639-5643 or lross@msjc.edu
 
Math Workshop
May 14, 3:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1213 - Order of Operations
For more information contact Raymond Shaw at 951-487-3491 or rshaw@msjc.edu
 
Psychology Club Meeting
May 14, 5:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417
For more information contact Richard Kandus at 951-639-5695 or rkandus@msjc.edu
 
Honors Convocation
May 14, 6:30 pm, SJC Library
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5321 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Scholarship Breakfast
May 15, 8:00 am, Country Club at Soboba Springs
 
High School Senior Day
May 15, 12:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1120B
Mentors and staff offer one-on-one assistance with enrollment processes
For more information contact Beth Bowles at 951-639-5315 or bbowles@msjc.edu
 
Dual Enrollment Advisory Committee Meeting
May 15, 12:30 pm, MVC Rm. 453
For more information contact Rickianne Rycraft at 951-639-5642 or rrycraft@msjc.edu
 
Honors Workshop
May 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 417 - Panic Reduction
Attendance will help students reduce their anxiety and prepare more effectively for finals
For more information contact Gillian Patton at gpatton@msjc.edu
 
History Major Workshop
May 15, 1:00 pm, SJC Rm. 1255
The new state-approved history major for MSJC will be discussed and transfer questions will be answered
For more information contact Christina Yamanaka at 951-487-3522 or cyamanaka@msjc.edu
 
Student Success & Support Committee Meeting
May 15, 1:00 pm, MVC Rm. 851/SJC Rm. 205
For more information contact Selena Paez at 951-639-5321 or spaez@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Jazz Ensemble
May 15 & 16, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Brandman University Ed.D. Scholarship for MSJC Employees
Deadline is May 16th!
 
STEM Robotics Workshop
May 16, 2:00 pm, MVC Rm. 411
Arduino
For more information contact Alex Cuatok at 951-639-5267 or acuatok@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Half Marathon
May 17, 7:30 am, MVC
Sponsored by MSJC and coordinated by the United Way, the half marathon raises funds to benefit youth, family and community programs
Find out more at http://menifeehalf.com
 
Financial Aid Workshop
May 17, 9:00 am, SJC Parking Lot B
“Now is the Time: Get Ready for College”
For more information contact Cynthia Vargas at 951-487-3243 or cvargas@msjc.edu or Araceli Higuera at 951-487-3241 or ahiguera@msjc.edu
 
Instrumental Chamber Ensemble/Guitar Ensemble
May 17, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
The two newest ensembles offer interesting colors and keen musicianship in this joint concert. Both are chamber groups, performing various musical styles from the antique to the modern day.
For more information contact Jeremy Brown at 951-639-5665 or jebrown@msjc.edu
 
Menifee Campus Singers
May 17, 7:30 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
A dynamic student ensemble performing music from a wide variety of sources including standard choral music and fresh arrangements of seasonal and popular songs
For more information contact the Lab Theatre Box Office at 951-639-5790
 
Big Bands Concert
May 18, 2:00 pm, SJC Theatre
“Tin Pan Alley”
For more information contact the Theatre Box Office at 951-487-3790
 
Music Student Showcase
May 18, 2:00 pm, MVC Lab Theatre
A concert that showcases the musical talent at MSJC and gives students an opportunity to perform before a live audience
For more information contact the Lab Theatre Box Office at 951-639-5790
 
SGA BBQ
May 20, 12:00 pm, SJC Quad
Join SGA and Chef Ron at the monthly BBQ!
For more information contact Nathan Brais at 951-487-3331 or nbrais@msjc.edu
 
Executive Senate Meeting
May 20, 12:30 pm, SJC Rm. 200/MVC Rm. 851
For more information contact Betty Ihrig at 951-487-3403 or bihrig@msjc.edu
 
MSJC Academy - Call for Proposals – Now Open!
May 23 Deadline
 
Graduation Rehearsal and BBQ
May 28, 5:30 pm, Ramona Bowl
 
Annual Student Art Exhibition
Ends May 29, SJC Art Gallery
Gallery Hours: Monday – Thursday, 10:00 am – 4:00 pm
For more information contact Joe Posadas at 951-487-3585 or jposadas@msjc.edu
 
Graduation Ceremony
May 30, 6:00 pm, Ramona Bowl
 
2014 Graduation Survey
At MSJC, we are proud of your academic success!
As a graduate of MSJC, your opinions regarding our programs and services, as well as your future plans, are important to us.
Please help us improve our services for current and future students by participating in the 2014 Grad Survey. 
The survey will take approximately 2 to 3 minutes to complete.  Click this link to access survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/s/Grad_Survey_2014
 
Professional Women’s Roundtable 2014-2015 Scholarship
Application deadline June 2
 
Open Enrollment
Ends June 5
Health and Welfare Annual Open Enrollment period runs from May 7th  to June 5th
For more information contact Betty Williams at 951-487-3155 or bwilliams@msjc.edu
 
Same Day Counseling Appointments Only
Counseling appointments can no longer be made in advance
http://www.msjc.edu/PublicInformationOffice/Documents/SameDayCounseling.pdf
For more information call 951-639-5255 or 951-487-3255
 
Spring 2014 Final Exam Schedule
 
Summer Operating Schedule
 
Continuing Education is Accepting Summer & Fall Class Proposals
For more information go to www.msjc.edu/ce
 
Got an Event? Get the Word Out with this NEW FORM!
The MSJC office of Public Information & Marketing wants to help you spread the word about your events. We know our media partners need certain details or they won’t run an announcement. We know our students and community members want to know certain things before they will attend. Boost your chances of getting your event published or growing your audience by filling  out the form at this link. Once you hit “submit” the form automatically goes to Karin, Carol AND Stephanie. We will take it from there!
 
MSJC Branding Guidelines
If you are working with a vendor or creating your own flyer, publication, or promotional materials, please review the MSJC guidelines first:
 
Using District Email to reach Everyone