Skip Main Navigation

High School Equivalency Information - GED

What is GED?

The General Education Development course (GED) is for adults who do not have a high school diploma and pass a test to receive a California High School Equivalency Certificate.

The GED test is made up of four subjects: Mathematical Reasoning, Reasoning through Language Arts, Social Studies, and Science

How do I sign up and pay for the GED?

Visit and create an account. Once you have created an account you can register for the test and pay online.

To pay online you can use a credit card or a debit card. You may also use a Visa, MasterCard, or American Express gift card. Please check on-line for exam costs.

You may take the four subjects all at once or broken into separate exams.
If you have already taken the test, but did not pass, you will receive two discounted retakes. The third attempt, the payment cycle begins, per subject.

What score do I need to pass the GED?

You need to score a 145 on each module and 580 on all four parts combined. For Test Previews or for a free practice test go to:

Where can I get more information about the GED and testing? 
California GED Policies

To schedule your test, simply log into your GED account.